Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, authoritative, 1 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The new edition of the OHAM is a very welcome revision indeed. The first edition was starting to feel rather dated.
For the most part is extremely comprehenisive, covering everything for altitude sickness to COPD exacerbations. The information is always well presented and reasonably succinct. It really does follow on nicely from the OHCM.
Of course there are problems- the text has become more prose-like and less bullet pointy. This means that whilst it is a 'pocketbook', it really is best read at home before and after the event to dissect out what may/went wrong. Nevertheless it is useful in making sure you haven't forgotten anything during an on-call.
The book includes a section of respiratory support- this is esentially principle based and is of little use in an actual emergency. The practical management information the book provides would be enough for an SPR who was not working in their chosen field i think. Obviously each hospital has its own guidelines which no doubt deviate from this text.
The main book to compare it with is the 'Acute Medicine: A Practical Guide to the Management of Medical Emergencies'
Overall, the OHAM is more detailed and comprehensive, HOWEVER - the other book is far more practical and offers extremely valuable management algorithms.
In short, you must use BOTH books........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely useful, 5 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
this is as good as the yellow handbook of clinical medicine but this gives you the signposts you need as a SHO on call , wheras the yellow book is rather more simple. They do complement each other though. Really useful as a checklist for making sure you have done everything that is needed as an emergency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 27 Dec. 2007
By 
I had a copy of this book at uni but didn't truly appreciate it until my first nightshifts as a houseofficer... The book contains a wealth of up to date info about medical emergencies in an easy to read and understand format, and is probably useful for all medical staff no matter what specialty or grade - FY1s and 2s will thank their lucky stars for this book, as will more experienced doctors who need a review of seat-of-your-pants medicine. Those grim nightshifts when your senior is stuck in A&E and you're faced with a patient as sick as a dog will seem less intimidating thanks to this addition to the OH series.

it can also just about fit in the back pocket of your scrubs!

Perfect for use in conjunction with essential guide to acute care by cooper / cramp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
F. Serrano (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
Wel, if you're any junior doctor, med student or just stareted working in a ER, this is an absolutely amazing tool. Indispensable actually. It covers the most frequent pathologies and cases that come up in the ER and most of them have a clear picture of what you need to do. Always divided (each disease) by "Assessment, Management, and treatment". Cardiac, neurological, dermatological, nephorology, etc so if you are going start tomorrow, be sure to bring this book with you. Very good and very straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearing the acute medical minefield, 6 May 2004
By A Customer
As a newly qualified Nurse Practitioner working in an acute medical setting this book is a fantastic help. Clear, consise and fits in your pocket.Not just for Doctors but all health professionals with an extended role. It will save you at 3 am!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IMPROVEMENT IN USEFULNESS, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
It carries good information required for acute management of common medical emergencies. Usefulness might improve if these management steps are given in small sentences and then elaborated in tabular form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed., 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
Having misplaced my normal sized oxford handbook, I thought it was time to downsize.This mini version is really cute and fits perfectly into my cross bag.The prints are small but clear.Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real acute medicine., 3 Jun. 2005
Only truly used and verified clinical knowledge. I trust this book, its realy up to date, good problem approach, reliable. Does not make me confused as many others when I check a problem. Worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book with lots of practical hints, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
I can recommend this book to every doctor. management plans are uptodate and very relevant to any practicing clinician. Tables are reader friedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
great book ..... ideal reference book.........ideal for my needs in the course I am undertaking. I would definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) by Amir Sam (Flexibound - 29 April 2010)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews