Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C&A: Critical and comprehensive
I found this book to be quite comprehensive for the C&A course, as well as critical enough to present different view points from other scholars on most of the topics. It's historical approach to contemporary issues can be challenging to comprehend at first in so much as its relevance doesn't seem appropriate. My advice is to take your time reading it. And discuss it...
Published on 13 Sept. 2008 by Solicitor wannabe

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A wordy, unclear and self-indulgent textbook
I currently study on a GDL programme, and was given this textbook at the beginning of the year, to be used as the set-text for the course. I find the book to be lacking clarity, unnecessarily and infuriatingly wordy, and to engage in self-indulgently long discussions about nothing very much. Look for alternatives; I've had to.
Published on 19 Nov. 2009 by AG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C&A: Critical and comprehensive, 13 Sept. 2008
I found this book to be quite comprehensive for the C&A course, as well as critical enough to present different view points from other scholars on most of the topics. It's historical approach to contemporary issues can be challenging to comprehend at first in so much as its relevance doesn't seem appropriate. My advice is to take your time reading it. And discuss it with your peers. With the assistance of one of those exam preparation "everything-you-need-to-know-to-succeed-in-C&A" books, I managed to achieve a 2:1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's a critical introduction not a revision guide, 13 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
There are text books that give you what you need to know to pass black letter law exams and there are those that make you think about the subject and put it in its social and political context. This is one of the latter. It's written in long grown up sentences for people who may be tired of terse, pithy bullet point styles. But it is generally clear and never less than interesting. I would read other texts as well and probably cases and materials, though there is an online resource that provides further details of selected judgements. I read the book for the intellectual interest; I read law at university many years ago, but still find it fascinating. My guess would be that if your main aim is to do as little as possible to get your degree, then this may not be the book for you, for reasons other reviewers have given. But if you want to see the law in its wider context, which I think you should, then this may be the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
Particularly useful on the content around Human Rights - a good supplement for anyone studying Public Law. Easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A wordy, unclear and self-indulgent textbook, 19 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
I currently study on a GDL programme, and was given this textbook at the beginning of the year, to be used as the set-text for the course. I find the book to be lacking clarity, unnecessarily and infuriatingly wordy, and to engage in self-indulgently long discussions about nothing very much. Look for alternatives; I've had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overly Wordy And Complex., 3 July 2011
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
I used this book as a first year LLB Law student for a module of Public Law as it was the recommended text book, however I found it overly wordy and complex.

The book does contain some good information and helpful insights, however I would not recommended it to anyone as it is incredibly difficult to read as a beginner in the subject. There is far too much continuous prose which would really benefit from being divided up and made more approachable. There is a lot of political history included which does add a greater depth of knowledge but the way it is integrated makes it very hard to understand the main principles of a topic area and the reader often finds himself at sea in a world of names and dates and cannot grasp the important legal principles. The book could really benefit from dividing the legal principles and the historical context into different sections. I often found it difficult to identify the main points of a subject even after rereading for a third of fourth time and had to find other textbooks before I could understand what the author was trying to say.

If you are looking to do some reading about the political history of England then this book can provide it but if you are a law student looking for a textbook on a Public Law or Constitutional Law or Administrative Law module then look elsewhere for a more comprehensive text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars study books, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
D. Cummings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
I purchased this for my daughter at uni it does what it says on the tin. A good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction (Paperback)
thanks again for shipping the product right away. i received it within 3 days on a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 10 Feb. 2009
The author says the British Constitution is entrenched.

Does this mean it is lying in a ditch somewhere?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, and Human Rights: A critical introduction
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews