Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Science Writing
This is a varied collection of articles by just about every great modern science writer you can think of. The articles range in size from about 8 pages to as little as half a page, and each is preceded by a short, interesting introduction by Dawkins.

I read a lot of popular science books so inevitably there were a few items which I had already read, but it was...
Published on 20 Mar. 2008 by Mr. A. J. Clark

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dawkins
I enjoyed this book - as someone entirely non-scientist there was bits I didn't understand, but the range covered was impressive. My only qualification was that there were so many extracts that there was not much of any of them - I think rather fewer and rather longer would have been an advantage.

I passed it on to a distinguished scientist friend.
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing (Paperback)
Marvellous !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of scientific texts, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
D. Quintiere "Davi Q" (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is a collection of many many short texts ranging from 1 to 5 pages each on average, all selected and introduced by a small paragraph by Dawkins.

Please note none of the texts is from Dawkins himself, but from top modern history scientists, covering a wide selection of subjects such as astronomy and biology.

It's a great book to read especially for short periods, like on the tube or train.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawkins Book Review, 6 July 2009
By 
D. A. R. Williams (Bramhall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent anthology by Richard Dawkins surveying the thoughts and contributions of leading scientists through the 20th Century. This book should be compulsory reading for all on science courses in tertiary education and for those who would try to interpret science and its findings to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dawkins does it again, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Lees (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a pressie for my Dads birthday, it came before the last estimated delivery dates and was inexpensive compared to high street stores. A good buy, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No modern science, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing (Paperback)
I was a bit cautious buying something by Richard Dawkins, as he tends to spend most of the book praising his own view of life rather than looking at matters objectively. This book was similar and the extracts are largely old knowledge and it is more a work of great science literature, rather than a summary of modern popular science (which is what I was after). I also find Mr Dawkins, the most religious atheist zealot I have ever read (and I am not religious, difficult to read as he strikes me, in Harry Enfield's words (sic), "I am more substantially knowledgable than yow". Dont buy this if you want a popular science read, despite the term "modern" it is not modern at all. 3 stars because there are some interesting bits in there if you can avoid Dawkins' diatribe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok. But no more., 2 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing (Paperback)
Didn't grab me as wildly as it appears to have done some of the other reviewers here and so was a little bit disappointed really. Expected more from Dawkins.

If it's a book about the "general wonder of nature" malarky you're after then I'd happily recommend David Attenborough's The Private Life of Plants. Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars um no, 24 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Lodge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hated this book. Admittedly it isnt really written by Richard Dawkins, but I bought it as it had his name on it. I read this book when I cant sleep and it puts me right out. I love science from all fields and yet somehow this book bored me. Perhaps if you are a very hardcore scientist and you like to read boring accounts of boring things then you may enjoy this. But if you are thinking of buying this because you normally enjoy Richard Dawkins and you enjoy science, then dont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 149 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why so few women?, 16 April 2008
This accessible and informative anthology provides a selection of popular science writings, predominantly from the second half of the 20th century. It is a joy to read. The book provides an insight in modern scientific thinking and methodology and shows some of the astonishing ways in which science strives to dispell ignorance. However, as an anthology, it is also remarkably skewed. Firstly, it is astonishing how few female authors are included; unfortunately, the book fails to explain why. Second, "science" is used with a restrictive interpretation, since the book focuses strongly on the natural sciences, some mathematics, the cognitive sciences and some reflections on science in general. Other fields, especially most of the social sciences and humanities, are absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing
The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing by Richard Dawkins (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2009)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews