Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive analysis of the Arthurian legend.
The tales of Arthur and his accomplished Knights of the Round table have always been an interesting tale to me, and this book recounts all the major workings from as early as the middle ages surrounding King Arthur. I was impressed by author's ability to remain open minded as he interprets an array of literature surrounding the enigmatic figure of Arthur, and certainly...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by Black Galleon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable
Printing is so small my old eyes cannot read it...... what more can you say...have no desire to constantly use a magnifying glass!
Published 17 months ago by earthmagic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive analysis of the Arthurian legend., 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
The tales of Arthur and his accomplished Knights of the Round table have always been an interesting tale to me, and this book recounts all the major workings from as early as the middle ages surrounding King Arthur. I was impressed by author's ability to remain open minded as he interprets an array of literature surrounding the enigmatic figure of Arthur, and certainly the story does change, sometimes significantly depending on the source. Overall the book is a good read, and is divided into chapters not just on Arthur but on other famous figures of the time such as Merlin and Gawain. I particulalry enjoyed the Merlin section and brilliantly speaks of how he moved the giants dance from Ireland to Britain with his magic, which is now of course Stonehenge. Other feats of his include informing Vortigern how his tower is built on an unstable patch of soil as there are two dragons living in its foundations. Of course some of the more well known tales of Arthur such as the sword Excalibur were also a joy to read, and in addition I enjoyed reading about the other array of magical weapons at his and his knights disposal. In all this is an excellent source for further reading into Arthur or for a casual read, and I must point out that this is my first book on Arthur so it is a good starting point for those unsure of which book to buy. I would recommend this book for those interested in the legend of Arthur and also an insight into the workings of the figures in his court. The thing to remember is that Arthur could well have existed, and certainly from my reading of this book, there is no substantial evidence to suggest otherwise. Indeed one day it is entirely possible that he might well return from his resting place at Avalon, and prove all the critics wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthurian Legend Brought To Life, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Professor Alan Lupack, has brought together all of
the known sources for King Arthur in this excellent
and most interesting reference book on the legendary
Warrior King of ancient Albion.

We have the early stories as penned by Geoffrey of
Monmouth, hazy though they may be. The Goloddin,
Gildas and Nennius. The romantic tradition which
includes the writings of Chretien de Troyes, the
tales of Lancelot and Guinevere, ballads and songs
of our long lost hero.

The author looks at the work of Malory and Tennyson
the romance of the Arthurian tradition in poetry,
plays, film and fiction.

For those familiar only with King Arthur through the
recent television series Merlin, here are the early
references to Merlin, his prophecies, and his place
in popular culture.

Prof. Lupack is a recognised world authority on the
Arthurian tradition and this book should be of great
interest to students and history buffs of medieval
literature, as well as for those purely interested
in the myth and folklore of this island nation.

Published by Oxford University Press
and with 500 pages, it is probably the most inclusive
Arthurian Guide currently available.
Includes a list of Arthurian People, Places and Things.
Fully Indexed and cross referenced.

Well worth gracing the bookshelves of anyone interested
in King Arthur, "The once and future King".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 April 2014
By 
R. I. Clegg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Excellent choice for a friend's birthday present - he is keen on this field, so it went down well with him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arhurian Legend, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Bought as reward for great-neice and she seems happy with it without going OTT. She is into everything Arthurian at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide, 31 Mar 2013
By 
E. H. Howell "Cymraes" (Cymru De (South Wales)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
As a peson with a degree in hisstory and a special interest in Arthur I find id very useful ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Printing is so small my old eyes cannot read it...... what more can you say...have no desire to constantly use a magnifying glass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend (Oxford Paperback Reference)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews