Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book
Really interesting with exactly the right amount of detail in all the right places. Words Words Words covers a really broad selection topics within the subject of English Language. It's got loads of interesting, quirky facts and discussion points about English whilst being a good read. David Crystal's passion for the subject shines thorough but it is clearly written,...
Published on 6 July 2007 by L. Cuthew

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, terrible formatting!
The book was interesting and I enjoyed it. There weren't many new ideas in the book - I felt that Crystal had just reorganised ideas from his other books. The Kindle edition was very badly formatted, however. There were paragraphs where there were capital Ws everywhere for no reason and very often words that should have been italicised weren't or words that shouldn't have...
Published on 20 July 2012 by Ms. J. Heath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 6 July 2007
By 
L. Cuthew (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
Really interesting with exactly the right amount of detail in all the right places. Words Words Words covers a really broad selection topics within the subject of English Language. It's got loads of interesting, quirky facts and discussion points about English whilst being a good read. David Crystal's passion for the subject shines thorough but it is clearly written, for anyone who speaks English so it's not just for people with a vested interest in this topic. If you speak English, you'll find this really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
David Crystal never allows his erudition to get in the way of readability. He manages to combine his near-omniscience on the subject of the English Language with a refreshing tolerance (celebration, even) of the way language evolves from generation to generation. There's no rant against "falling standards" or any snobbery about misuse of apostrophes here, but explanations as to why and when change happens. Yes, as one reviewer has said, some of it goes over old ground, but there's joy to be had in looking at things afresh. If you don't like a book to meander and go off on interesting tangents, this might not be for you, as the framework for the book is logical but quite "loose". You come away from reading this with the feeling that you've just enjoyed a wonderfully informative conversation with the author. If you love words and are hungry to find out some more priceless snippets, then this book will reward you and offer a chance to impress a few people by dropping in some obscure facts and derivations at your next dinner party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, terrible formatting!, 20 July 2012
By 
Ms. J. Heath - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Words Words (Kindle Edition)
The book was interesting and I enjoyed it. There weren't many new ideas in the book - I felt that Crystal had just reorganised ideas from his other books. The Kindle edition was very badly formatted, however. There were paragraphs where there were capital Ws everywhere for no reason and very often words that should have been italicised weren't or words that shouldn't have been italicised were. There were also many paragraphing errors. Annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good short introduction to the fascinating world of words, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
As a primer and brief introduction to the sublime world of words, of lexicographers and word hounds, this is a nice little book that sits well in the hand. Crystal distils his encyclopaedic knowledge of epistemology into 6 fascinating sections

1. the universe of words, their number and how we learn them
2. the origin of words, their beginnings and construction
3. the diversity of words, worldwide diversity, specialist language, group speak
4. the evolution of words, births, deaths, changes and futures
5. the enjoyment of words, wordplay, word sound and games
6. becoming a word detective, how to take your interest further, further reading and how to estimate your personal wordhoard (vocabulary), both what you use everyday and what you understand but don's use regularly.

A good starting point which left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words Words Words, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Words Words (Hardcover)
Great, great, great!

As ever with anything written by David Crystal, this book explains concepts of English in a very clear, simplified and entertaining manner Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice intro, but not quite meaty enough for me, 24 July 2006
By 
W. Pearce (Morecambe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words Words Words (Hardcover)
To write a book about words which is a page-turner would I suppose be a difficult task. So we can forgive David Crystal the fact this is no page-turner. It is, however, an interesting read. It's a well-laid out and accessible book, and I learnt some interesting facts from it. Personally, I'd have liked more coverage of the history of individual words - though the book does have an interesting chapter on the birth and evolution of words - but this is perhaps beyond the remit of such a book. The book is most suitable for someone who is new to the subject of linguistics (as I am), and would probably be too basic for anyone with any kind of existing knowledge of the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 9 Sep 2009
By 
J. Shaw (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
David Crystal enthralls us with fascinating details about the English Language in his trademark crystal clear prose style. It is an essential introduction to the study of linguistics, highly recommended for all AS students, which entertains as it teaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Crystal, 6 May 2011
By 
Daithi (Barrow-in-Furness Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
An excellent book, well written (in my opinion)and recommended by my Daughter, an English teacher, along with other titles by the same authur. I'm looking forward to reading them as well.

David Hewitt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORDerful!, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Rosalba Arena - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Words Words Words (Paperback)
Mr Crystal deals with such a wide topic with extreme simplicity and he manages to keep the reader interested all the time. Unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Words Words Words
Words Words Words by David Crystal (Paperback - 26 April 2007)
7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews