Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!
As a foreigner living in the UK, I am trying to constantly improve my English in order to succesfully pass IELTS exam in the future. I find this book very useful while writing my essays, correspondence, or amateur novels. Sometimes, you just can't think of the right word to express something - that's when this wonderful little book comes in handy! I would say it's one of...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Ludivine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
plently of words with exampls but only drawback is clarity and enhancement of wording. it does not attract the buyer to read it with comfort.
publisher should improve this book by quality of printing and colouring the bold words
Published on 13 Dec 2012 by IR Minhas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 7 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
As a foreigner living in the UK, I am trying to constantly improve my English in order to succesfully pass IELTS exam in the future. I find this book very useful while writing my essays, correspondence, or amateur novels. Sometimes, you just can't think of the right word to express something - that's when this wonderful little book comes in handy! I would say it's one of those must-have books for English-learners. Well worth the money. *UPDATE* I received an overall grade 8.0 which means this dictionary must be really helpful :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good resource, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I got this for friend, as they are trying to improve their English. They found it very useful in expanding their vocabulary and not sounding repetitive when they are writing reports, participating in seminars or putting together PowerPoint presentations. They found the layout straight forward and the edition to be quite comprehensive. He has got a new founded confidence not just in the `delivery' of the work he does, but also his conversations are not `hemmed-in' by using the same word usage all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision tool., 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
My daughter needed some revision in this area prior to exams and found it very useful. Instead of reams of paper/exam questions this is a handy book at a great price that can be taken anywhere for quick reference or as a revision tool. Her teacher hadn't come across one before and after seeing it decided to purchase some for the library with extra funding she had available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable item in everyone's library, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
This book is an indispensable companion to anyone who wishes to enrich his or her vocabulary in their speach and writing. In its pages one can find a thorough presentation of synonyms and antonyms, as well as examples of their use. This book is for everyone who doesn't want to be just an average user of the english language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative and easy to use, 27 April 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Plenty of vocabulary here to enlarge one's own or to use when a writer need a different way of saying the same thing. It is sensibly arranged so that a word can be found in seconds and then the reader gets several sections of slightly different meanings, each with its own synonyms and headed by a brief example of use with an indication as to which meanings are standard, informal or literary. This last feature is indispensable for a student of English who doesn't want to sound like Milton or a slang-using teenager! For example: under "see" are 10 meanings ending with "he's seeing someone else now" as "'go out with, date, take out, be involved with' and informal 'go steady with', and the dated word 'court.' What more does one need? But I have a slight niggle about the sturdiness of the book itself: it is quite fat and feels slightly as though it might come apart. I will update in a few months/weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine reference book, 19 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I have used it many times since I bought it, and I consider it a really useful reference tool for learning English. You will be able to find alternatives to the words we tend to use once and again. It comes really handy and it is very easy to use. I miss some synonyms for some words I believe to be quite basic, but it not an encyclopaedia anyway. I would buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effectiveness of Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms, 4 April 2009
By 
K. Joyner "Ken Joyner" (High Wycombe, Bucks., United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I found the approach of the compiler, who not only supplies a range of words but also annotates the different uses of the the subject word which may be relevant, a most useful one in assisting the selection of other synonyms which were not actually in the Dictionary. Overall I would recommend its aid in the completion of crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
It has everything in one. Makes it very easy for you to spot the synonyms and opposites. Bought it for my 7 year old and he is learning a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dictionary!, 23 Jun 2014
By 
R. Paul "Mick" (Marseille, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I am very happy by this dictionary. It is complete, easy to use. I really love it! love it! love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceent, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I am very happy with this product. It's handle and has a lot of words with clear synonyms. I am using it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference)
The Oxford Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms (Oxford Paperback Reference) by Oxford University Press (Paperback - 12 April 2007)
Used & New from: £6.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews