Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for an A&E job
This book will never let you down! When you're alone and have no one to ask for advice, this book will be your saviour!
Published 12 months ago by Graham Bee

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much has changed
I was a bit disappointed as I only bought the second edition in 2005, but when I went out and updated it, there was in fact not that much change at all to the vast majority of the text! Sure, the new 2005 CPR guidelines are there (I guess this and the name change dropping `Accident' were the reasons to `rush out' a new edition so quickly), but most of the text is the...
Published on 30 April 2007 by Duncan Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Covered all topics great companion in emergency department.

A must have for all trainees in emergency medicine .

Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well it arrived quickly and in good condition and is as expected an original copy of the emergence medicine handbook that the wife requested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably still the best exam resource, 12 Jan 2014
The Oxford Handbooks used to be the go-to resource on the shop floor as a quick reference guide. Websites such as Medscape and Up to Date have probably ended that but these are still good resources for exam preparation. Most of the MCEM/ FCEM curriculum is included here.

It has some great sections and some weaker ones. It includes some surprising statements such as "ketamine is rarely used in hospital practice for adults" and IV sedation should only be used in "truly exceptional circumstances" for the violent, agitated patient in the ED.

I would recommend this as an MCEM resource, particularly in conjunction with online SAQ's and the excellent Secrets of Emergency Medicine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks), 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Things have actually changed from the second edition that I had.

Yes --recommended and a great companion.

Read in the name of thy Lord who has created you from a clotted blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it covers, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Oxford Handbook to-hand tips for the A&E dept. GREAT for musculockeletal. But has a lot of gaps. So it's perfect if it has what you're looking for, but frustrating when it doesn't. Needs less waffle, more facts/tips for quick emergency dept decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical compact guide, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A practical and compact guide to clinical practice in A&E medicine. Logical layout supports paramedic clinical decision-making and is a useful aide-memoire in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much has changed, 30 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Imitation Leather)
I was a bit disappointed as I only bought the second edition in 2005, but when I went out and updated it, there was in fact not that much change at all to the vast majority of the text! Sure, the new 2005 CPR guidelines are there (I guess this and the name change dropping `Accident' were the reasons to `rush out' a new edition so quickly), but most of the text is the same. And I'm still tired of straining to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good handy resource for A&E rotation, 2 May 2011
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Imitation Leather)
I bought this for my A&E rotation and found it very useful and concise in giving practical management and quick guide for dealing with the myriads of presentations in the ED. The trauma, minor injuries and orthopaedics section was particularly detailed but concise and very valuable. It is very well written and very reader friendly. I think it is a very good resource for anyone planning to undertake A&E rotation as a foundation doctor or GPST's. It includes the 2005 resuscitation council guidelines and the section on infectious diseases has been updated to incorporate information on avian flu, hospital acquired infections and terrorism. What I found most useful for my first week was the 'GOLDEN RULES FOR EMERGENCY MEDICINE' on the very first page of the book. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good teacher in your pocket, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New guidelines and therapies. No unuseful infos.
Basic things about the illnesses.
Very good in emergency situations
Worth to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A&E, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Imitation Leather)
Comprehensive content, well organised chapter system , tidy conscise text style. Only two sore points 1)The index is not quite comprehensive in parts. 2) The lack of diagrams or tables-there are spaces in the text where this could be added to help explain or draw readers to a good overview algorithm- i accept this outside oxford style but it could really help in terms of presentation and may even replace redundant text. Overall the comprehensive content, reference to national guidelines, discussion of complex issues, outwiegh the minor drawbacks. The book is an essential Emergency Physician text and sets the bar for quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) by Colin Robertson (Imitation Leather - 2 Nov 2006)
Used & New from: 14.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews