Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise
Covered all topics great companion in emergency department.

A must have for all trainees in emergency medicine .

Great value
Published 12 months ago by Paul Effiong

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much has changed
I was a bit disappointed as I only bought the second edition in 2005, but when I went out and updated it, there was in fact not that much change at all to the vast majority of the text! Sure, the new 2005 CPR guidelines are there (I guess this and the name change dropping `Accident' were the reasons to `rush out' a new edition so quickly), but most of the text is the...
Published on 30 April 2007 by Duncan Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Covered all topics great companion in emergency department.

A must have for all trainees in emergency medicine .

Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for an A&E job, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Imitation Leather)
This book will never let you down! When you're alone and have no one to ask for advice, this book will be your saviour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love it and use it for my work regularly ….. i would recommend it to everyone who is doing emergency medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the E Medicine core materials are zipped in to this. This is all what you need to lay your foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably still the best exam resource, 12 Jan. 2014
The Oxford Handbooks used to be the go-to resource on the shop floor as a quick reference guide. Websites such as Medscape and Up to Date have probably ended that but these are still good resources for exam preparation. Most of the MCEM/ FCEM curriculum is included here.

It has some great sections and some weaker ones. It includes some surprising statements such as "ketamine is rarely used in hospital practice for adults" and IV sedation should only be used in "truly exceptional circumstances" for the violent, agitated patient in the ED.

I would recommend this as an MCEM resource, particularly in conjunction with online SAQ's and the excellent Secrets of Emergency Medicine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and thorough, but not fully comprehensive (but how could it be...), 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, compact knowledge. Good on diagnostics - a bit scarce on "so what you do now is this..." - Bought this from amazon marketplace - but I received the "South Asia" edition as opposed to the UK version, but it seems like it's not missing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it covers, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Oxford Handbook to-hand tips for the A&E dept. GREAT for musculockeletal. But has a lot of gaps. So it's perfect if it has what you're looking for, but frustrating when it doesn't. Needs less waffle, more facts/tips for quick emergency dept decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks), 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Things have actually changed from the second edition that I had.

Yes --recommended and a great companion.

Read in the name of thy Lord who has created you from a clotted blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical compact guide, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A practical and compact guide to clinical practice in A&E medicine. Logical layout supports paramedic clinical decision-making and is a useful aide-memoire in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY EMERGENCY HANDBOOK, 7 May 2014
By 
jessie (mušla,turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT WAS MORE THAN MY EXPECTATIONS,I FEEL MORA CONFIDENT IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM.I ADVISE IT TO EVERYBODY I KNOW,ESPECIALLY THE DOCS WORKING IN THE EMERGENCY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Emergency Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) by Colin Robertson (Imitation Leather - 2 Nov. 2006)
Used & New from: £11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews