Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book fab lecturer
I was taught the chemistry maths course by Steiner in 1998. Of course the book was a recommended text but it has been worth its money time and time again. Throughout my Phd I have refered back to it and even when my younger brother has chemistry maths problem at school it can be refered to. An essential reference text for all scientists.
Published on 6 Aug. 2006 by L. Hollyhead

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe could have been written in English?
This isn't the kind of book you want to refer to in the middle of your exam period. Maths exam looming up very quickly, argh! Lets refer to Steiner... argh! Close it very quickly... and subsequently feel more dense than before. One needs either A-level Maths, or an incredibly good lecturer to be able to understand this book because some of the simpler (but...
Published on 7 Jun. 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book fab lecturer, 6 Aug. 2006
By 
L. Hollyhead "paxleh" (Blandford Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was taught the chemistry maths course by Steiner in 1998. Of course the book was a recommended text but it has been worth its money time and time again. Throughout my Phd I have refered back to it and even when my younger brother has chemistry maths problem at school it can be refered to. An essential reference text for all scientists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars also a great help for the general reader, 12 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
I am not really a member of the target audience (I am a classicist turned novelist, not a chemist), but I have been an admirer of the book for years and find it a source of great interest and enjoyment. The presentation is superb (putting to shame the atrocious layout of most books on mathematics), a generous selection of topics is included, the explanations are lucid, the examples enlightening. Few books on mathematics do as much to instil in the reader the cheering conviction of having a pronounced aptitude for the subject.
It is very dismal for the general reader to be confined to books on science aimed at the general reader - i.e. books which presuppose no mathematical knowledge. The Chemistry Maths Book opens up a much wider range of material (not just on chemistry), as well as having interest in its own right. I assume the chemistry undergraduates for whom it is primarily intended will find it helpful, but it deserves a much wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book conveys the superb lecturing style of the author, 20 July 2001
By A Customer
Dr. Erich Steiner was my physical chemistry lecturer and responsible for teaching mathematics in the Dept. of Chemistry at the University of Exeter while I was doing my undergraduate degree. Having A-level mathematics, I could skip the first few chapters and jump straight into the more advanced topics. These were a fantastic blend of the fundamental maths coupled to real life chemical example. For my contemporaries who only had GCSE maths, the former chapters brought them up to speed with ease and lack of trepidation. This book remains by my desk for frequent reference on all the maths I have required to date.
This book is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb full of witty insights and excellent teaching, 21 Aug. 2000
This book teaches the fundamentals of maths for chemistry students from a low level (GCSE grade and below) to more advanced material suitable for a maths degree course.
Topical insights into the history of mathematics are included in the book. These anecdotes serve to bring alive the teaching of maths.
I used this textbook all the way through my chemistry 1st and 2nd year. Even now I use it as a valuable reference to the finer points of maths as I find it much easier to pick up than other maths text books.
Definitely recommended reading for any chemistry, physics or engineering undergraduate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Maths Book for Chemistry., 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Brynski (Shropshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chemistry Maths Book (Paperback)
This is the best maths book for A/AS level and undergraduate students. A popular classic already with an excellent layout, with plenty of examples. But beware this is not for beginers as you would need to have a good knowledge of Maths to get the full benefit of this excellent book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chemistry Maths Book (Paperback)
Good book, has lots of examples as well as practice questions. also easy to understand. would recommend it to first year chemists mainly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe could have been written in English?, 7 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This isn't the kind of book you want to refer to in the middle of your exam period. Maths exam looming up very quickly, argh! Lets refer to Steiner... argh! Close it very quickly... and subsequently feel more dense than before. One needs either A-level Maths, or an incredibly good lecturer to be able to understand this book because some of the simpler (but nevertheless essential for understanding the tougher) topics were glossed over, being more suited to the reader needing to brush-up. Mathematical terms were not explained clearly enough and found myself looking through dictionary on many an occasion to work out what was being said. The historical footnote-anecdotes I also found very pointless, without which the book would probably a lot thinner.
Hats off to the people who give it five stars though, admiration for seeing it's (very well) hidden inner-beauty goes out to you. However, my advice to people buying this book for their course who are not too confident in mathematics like myself... go get a nice A-level textbook, it should cover almost exactly the same material. Borrow a copy off someone else if you are feeling brave. Or make friends with an engineering student who has a copy of Engineering Mathematics by K.A.Stroud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chemistry Maths Book
The Chemistry Maths Book by Erich Steiner (Paperback - 31 Jan. 2008)
£33.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews