Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone doing a Biology based course.
I was recommended to buy this by my university and I have never regretted doing so. I would say that this book is absolutely essential to anyone who is undertaking a Biology course from A-level upwards.
Published on 21 Jan. 2012 by Tom_H

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wish I hadn't bought this
Like other reviewers I find this dictionary constantly frustrating. It is not comprehensive, and more often than not it doesn't have the term I am looking for, meaning I have to resort to the internet or textbooks. For example, it has the definition for 'jaw' but lacks 'qualia' and 'geosmins'. Not recommended for anyone above A level.
Published on 20 May 2008 by Ms. Lin Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone doing a Biology based course., 21 Jan. 2012
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I was recommended to buy this by my university and I have never regretted doing so. I would say that this book is absolutely essential to anyone who is undertaking a Biology course from A-level upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This was purchased for my Daughter who is in her first year of a Bsc and she says that is have proved invaluable. So money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy reference, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
Magnus Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I got this as a freebie along with its companion "Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences" and I use both now and again. I'm not sure that it is possible to produce a single volume dictionary to a subject as diverse as "biology" (which includes zoology, marine biology, botany, molecular biology etc) that will satisfy all of the people all of the time. However this is a good starting point and worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good general help, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
my son and I share this and have found it useful for both of our courses, GCSE biology and I use it to help in my microbiology, good simple guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Very useful! Would recommend it to anyone doing a-levels, I've got one for each subject now and it's proving to help lots with all the keywords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good comprehensive resource., 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This has been a very useful resource for me while studying for my BSc, however it is missing a lot of terms that are commonly encountered in animal behaviour textbooks / papers which would make it an excellent resource if they were included. Very useful for anyone studying a biological degree or encountering scientific papers on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... at university studying Forensic Science and she is very happy with this and said it will really help her, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Bought this for my granddaughter with other books as she is at university studying Forensic Science and she is very happy with this and said it will really help her. Very useful book, excellent delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary of Biology, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This was particulary asked for as a Christmas present, the recipient was delighted with the purchase. This has been added to his Oxford Dictionaries making a great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This book is a must have for those studying biology at college and undergraduate level. I have used this many times and it is easy to understand the definitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for Biology Students, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Perfect companion for any Biology student, definitions are detailed but concise. Includes mini pictures here and there which help out hugely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference)
A Dictionary of Biology (Oxford Quick Reference) by Elizabeth Martin (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2008)
£5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews