Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social Research Methods - 3rd Ed
Outstanding - I've used this book extensively for my undergraduate BA (Hons) in youth and communuity education.

There is also plenty of scope in the text for providing readers working on MA programmes with more than sufficient detail to support thier thesis.

The book is well laid out, offering an overview of the key themes and then providing detailed...
Published on 9 April 2009 by N. J. Pow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...
If you're library has it, borrow it instead. Some quite basic information.
Published 1 month ago by ABuyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social Research Methods - 3rd Ed, 9 April 2009
By 
N. J. Pow (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
Outstanding - I've used this book extensively for my undergraduate BA (Hons) in youth and communuity education.

There is also plenty of scope in the text for providing readers working on MA programmes with more than sufficient detail to support thier thesis.

The book is well laid out, offering an overview of the key themes and then providing detailed information in the latter sections of the book.

The links, in the book, to the web site were dissapointing though - this is the only reason for the 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryman 3rd Edition - Social Research Methods, 7 April 2009
By 
Mrs. Jennifer Brooks "jb" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This book is a comprehensive text book for anyone studying health and social research methods.It is quite expensive, but has everything you need to know, so could be the one book you buy.The contents information is detailed and there are colour coded headings on the pages to let you know what area you are looking at. The author has long and wide experience in higher education and research methods; he uses examples from students who have recently completed their studies, to give helpful ideas about what works well. There is a link to the publishers website, specific to this book, with additional website links;also on this website are links to podcasts from recent students, so if you like learning by listening this is again very helpful.
Jenny Brooks MSc student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook, 1 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
Considerable detail, good case studies, good web links and online multiple choice questions make this book essential for all research students including quantitative researchers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super book, very helpful, 14 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
The book is remarkabley easy to follow, but make sure you buy the latest edition.On buying an older editon you will be missing out on a great deal of super stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential book for dissertation, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
Essential book for dissertation. Great book explaining step by step all research methods. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social Research Methods, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This book provides an excellent guide to research methods, very easy to read, with plenty of examples throughout the book. I have read other research books but found Bryman to be the easiest one to understand, it is set out in a very user friendly way. As a social work student in my third year I believe that this book will be very well read and used by the end of my degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Research Methods, 2 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those embarking on research in the social sciences. Even for seasoned researchers as well. It has got all the information with good layout, slightly bulky to hold but well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryman, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This book has helped explain concepts within my research methods module that i didnt quite fully understand. It is a well structure book that is easy to read and understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Dissertation Bible, 2 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
This book is fantastic and like the title of my post suggests....it shall be invaluable during the completion of my dissertation!! An excellent purchase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Research Methods (Paperback)
It's a big book (heavy) professionally constructed and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Social Research Methods
Social Research Methods by Alan Bryman (Paperback - 6 Mar 2008)
Used & New from: £15.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews