Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
Definitely a must-buy for as and a-level students taking Philosophy and Ethics. It is well-structured, clearly easy to read and comprehend, and defines important key terms for any exam board you are taking. There are many books out there that are good for specific topics, as background information is very important for a-levels, but this covers almost every topic with a great deal of information to be read, that would be beneficial in examinations. Don't rely too heavily on this book, as it won't get you the higher grades by just focusing on this alone; read widely around the subject such as Plato - though it covers his analogy of the cave and the body/soul distinction very well, it doesn't cover background information on himself, which would be useful and would provide a better understanding to why he devised the analogy of the cave. It's still a great book, giving good examination advice, and covering all topics at as and a2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars revision aide, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
bought this for my daughter. She has found it very helpful and would recommend it for revision. Found diagrams more useful than pages of text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and logical (albeit, a little too brief in places), 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
The textbook includes an interesting section on how Philosophy and Ethics is assessed and examined, examiners hints and tips throughout the book. I brought this book as I'm currently studying AS level Philosophy and Ethics with Edexcel; however this book also has the content for OCR, AQA and WJEC.

I found the textbook extremely useful for getting to grips with the Cosmological and Teleological Arguments; these passages included a lot of detail, which allowed me to understand the areas much more fluently. My only negative inclination about this book, is that some areas do not go into as much detail, which is a shame, as the areas that do are both logical and concise.

Overall, I feel the textbook is very brief in its information content for some areas, however, it is excellent if other textbooks just confuse you with unnecessary amounts of detail. As I said, I wouldn't rely on this textbook too much, but it certainly helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful but not as expected, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
In many ways this book was better than I thought it would be. I expected a book made up of mind maps but it wasnt it was a very informative book that helped with the visual layouts. Ive just had my first AS Philosophy exam (WJEC) and it was helpful. Hugely helpful is at the front it gives links to what pages are relevant for each exam board/unit (very rare for it to include WJEC but it did)

All in all very helpful, it is also useful for when doing work in class when you just cant follow it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and Handy on Revision, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
Topics well detailed and broken down. I recommend it to anyone pursuing a study in this subject. Could use some colour illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
Thank you very much! This book will come in handy with my Easter revision and can't wait to read it properly
Thankyou very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Head spinning, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
Bought this to support my daughter as a lot of this can go over your head. This book not only tells you which bits to focus on according to the exam board but breaks up the information so that it is easier to see the wood through the trees. Some of the language is still a bit bewildering but so is the subject at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if it fits what you want, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. A. P. Dulston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
Good book if it fits what you are looking for. Neat diagrams which help you to revise or just understand complicated concepts. I will be using it as a teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Useful, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AS and A Level Religious Studies: Philosophy & Ethics Through Diagrams: Oxford Revision Guides (Paperback)
This guide has a really simple layout, presenting key information clearly and enabling effective revision. Many of the topics covered by AS Philosophy and Ethics are particularly suited to the diagrammatic style used throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews