Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
I am an IB Biology student and find this book really fantastic, when I read through the syllabus of what I have to know, I am able to flip through this book and find the perfect answer. It is clear, concise and explains topics well. Diagrams are detailed, layout is attractive and it is nice and light. It is ideal for tests and exams in the IB Biology syllabus.
Published on 6 Dec 2007 by Shirley Simpson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable, but not the best
I'm currently taking year 2 ib hl biology, and I don't find this book quite as useful as what other people are saying. Although it does cover everything, there is not enough detail in any of the subjects for someone to get full marks on a question. For example, the explanation of muscle contraction and relaxation outlines the whole cycle, but does not give enough detail...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by sakujun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
I am an IB Biology student and find this book really fantastic, when I read through the syllabus of what I have to know, I am able to flip through this book and find the perfect answer. It is clear, concise and explains topics well. Diagrams are detailed, layout is attractive and it is nice and light. It is ideal for tests and exams in the IB Biology syllabus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable, but not the best, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
I'm currently taking year 2 ib hl biology, and I don't find this book quite as useful as what other people are saying. Although it does cover everything, there is not enough detail in any of the subjects for someone to get full marks on a question. For example, the explanation of muscle contraction and relaxation outlines the whole cycle, but does not give enough detail on the chemicals involved and some details about the whole process. I also disagree with how the diagrams are really good...some of the diagrams are well-simplified and make things much simpler, but others are just inaccurate in general. If an IB essay question was worth 8 marks, you'd probably be able to get 5-6 marks with this book. I would recommend this for small tests, but not for the IB exam itself as it lacks some of the detail you need for a complete answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for revision, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
Highly recommended for revision purposes, once you have actually learn the content, very helpful in consolidating and reviewing everything to the run up of exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide to pass your bio exam, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
This is a perfect book which helps you for studying for your tests and exams. everything is in there in a well explained way, there are no useless details! Everything is straight to the point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three words - Okay, concise summary, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
After finishing the IB, the book was overall okay. It does not cover all aspects of the higher level syllabus and is often brief in some places. The diagrams are simple and the book is useful as a quick reference or to recap previous revision. This book is not sufficient for sole revision and other text books such as Pearson Baccalaureate Higher Level Biology would be recommended. The book is also overpriced with regards to the concise information it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On time and in very good conditions, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
Good price, good conditions and exactly on time!I am very satisfied with the deal. To buy this product this way was the better choice so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 28 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
As a SL IB student: Get this book!

I'm not sure how good it would be for HL students but for me it has been an absolute dream. It seems to follow everything that the syllabus says and does not waffle on but gets straight to the point which saves having to try and cut out all the stuff you do not need when revising!

I would really recommend this to anyone doing SL Biology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Biology IB students, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
Everything is explained and it helped me to understand what the teachers were talking about. Options included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT!!!, 8 May 2010
This review is from: IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) (Paperback)
If you're struggling to get your head round the IB Biology course then this is definately worth buying. Its got the detail you need to attain a high grade in IB and is well presented. However for SL biologists it is sometimes hard to distinguish which is relevant for you nd which is only HL material but as long as you have a copy of the syllabus at hand it should be quite straight forward. All in all i have gone through the whole revision guide and compared it to the syllabus and it ticks all the points, although sometimes not as clear as i would like it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides)
IB Study Guide: Biology 2nd Edition (IB Study Guides) by Andrew Allott (Paperback - 4 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews