Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, comprehensive text
Having taught A level Mathematics for twenty years I have found this text to be sound and comprehensive. Clear examples are followed by graded exercises and past examination questions. The language is suitable for students of this age-group and the depth of coverage suits all abilities. The text is a very good primer for A level Further Mathematics. This book is good...
Published on 30 Sep 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
It was clean but not how I expected it too be though it is a good buy for me .
Published 8 months ago by Aliyu Abbas Aliyu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, comprehensive text, 30 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
Having taught A level Mathematics for twenty years I have found this text to be sound and comprehensive. Clear examples are followed by graded exercises and past examination questions. The language is suitable for students of this age-group and the depth of coverage suits all abilities. The text is a very good primer for A level Further Mathematics. This book is good value for money and a must for the A level Mathematics student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Choice for CCEA A level maths, 7 July 2001
By A Customer
I have just spent the past 2 years struggling through my A level maths course, and thanks to this book I just might pass. THe examples are clear and relavent and therer are enough practice questions to help you learn the topics and exam style questions to see if you can do the real thing. Anybody who has decided to suffer the A level syllabus should use it, otrherwise you will find your 2 years hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding pure mathematics, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Gidu (Kingston-upon-Thames UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
It might NOT be a book for the absolute beginner, nevertheless all topics are very well explained, in a very simple and easy to understand style.
The book is a must for those wishing to achieve Maths A-level in England and Wales (or its equivalent in other countries), and/or for those who are about to join the Uni (or any other further education institution) and need to brush up their skills.
A very good investment, I have to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Text Book, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
This is by far the best A level Maths Text Book I have used. It begins to go into some Further Maths Topics (Complex Nos, Matrices) and covers all other topics thoroughly with good practice problems. A must buy for those who want to be good at maths and want top grades. For those relying solely on the edexcel text books (assuming they are doing their A level with Edexcel), I strongly advise you to purchase this book as it goes into far more depth than those text books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! Easy to follow and to understand, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The best book for learning A-level Maths - buy it if you're struggling and you want to pass with an A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for my Son, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
My son is getting good use out of this book, he is a maths freak, loves maths, takes after his dad.
arrive in good condition, well packaged and in time for Christmas as this was a present.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good maths text book., 23 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
The book is well written and concise, and covers a significant chunk of further maths as well as the core material. It is a useful companion to more recent texts which focus directly on the current syllabus. It is also well typeset so that arguments are usually confined to a page or so, and it will lay open on the desk. It is not excessively big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
Quick delivery, book in a good condition.I bought this book for my daughter . She found it very useful for hers AS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend this book for students who study on their own. This book clarifies a lot of points which many A-level mathematics books failed to cover!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Pure Mathematics (Paperback)
A really good book for people struggling in maths...and fiding maths hard. bought for a student in O'level... hope he will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Pure Mathematics
Understanding Pure Mathematics by D. W. S. Thorning (Paperback - 28 May 1987)
£38.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews