Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nicely presented dictionary/thesaurus
Very nicely presented dictionary with thesaurus. Top half of pages are the dictionary, whilst the bottom half contains related thesaurus. Clean and easy to read print. Very useful for my 10 year old.
Published on 7 Oct. 2009 by rajah

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford School Dictionary & Thesaurus
We have previously purchased both the School dictionary and Thesaurus separately.
This is a good book but does lack many words due to it being combined.

Better for the younger child as many of the words my 10 year old requires are not in this one and the full versions are left at school.
Published on 19 Jun. 2011 by Toulouse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford School Dictionary & Thesaurus, 19 Jun. 2011
We have previously purchased both the School dictionary and Thesaurus separately.
This is a good book but does lack many words due to it being combined.

Better for the younger child as many of the words my 10 year old requires are not in this one and the full versions are left at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nicely presented dictionary/thesaurus, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD SCHOOL DICTIONARY/THESAURUS (Hardcover)
Very nicely presented dictionary with thesaurus. Top half of pages are the dictionary, whilst the bottom half contains related thesaurus. Clean and easy to read print. Very useful for my 10 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reference also for younger readers, 15 Sept. 2011
I bought this dictionary for my daughter at the beginning of year 3, after the junior dictionary (different publisher) we bought for her at the beginning of year 2 went virtually unused (a lot of the words which appeared in her average year 2 reading material simply were not in it, although it was meant for her age group). I would recommend this dictionary for anybody looking for a dictionary for children 6+, since it features all of the words, is not too big (compact enough for the book bag but well bound), and is concise and easy to use. Each page shows a dictionary section on the top half of the page, and a thesaurus section on the bottom half of the page. Don't waste time buying those junior illustrated dictionaries; they are generally not comprehensive enough to last KS1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for upper primary, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Liza (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great dictionary / thesaurus, bought for my son as he entered year 4 (He is now in year 5). Other dictionaries we had did not cover even his spelling homework so we went for one aimed at a slightly older child. We had also previously owned this dictionary / thesaurus but in hard back however after not much time in my sons bag it fell apart so this time we opted for the paperback - after 6 weeks it is still looking good. Easy to use for him, never had any problems with him not finding words ect. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Dictionary, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. B. Oliver (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son (aged 10) got this for Christmas and has found it really useful. It is easy to use and has been invaluable for homework. There are a few words however which have not been included for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 13 May 2010
By 
R. Dainton (Lincs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a clear well set out book for children from about Y6 upwards and not too expensive. Will be needed for those children in Y5 who are hoping to sit the 11+ tests to improve their vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally all in one book, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD SCHOOL DICTIONARY/THESAURUS (Hardcover)
Perfect for the age of the child -10years- so that as a spelling is checked some subliminal absorption of exciting vocabulary may also be remembered. Using it while tutoring, a great idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: OXFORD SCHOOL DICTIONARY/THESAURUS (Hardcover)
I like to do crosswords, and sadly this book is not as good as the Readers Digest book of the same name, so a little disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OXFORD SCHOOL DICTIONARY/THESAURUS
OXFORD SCHOOL DICTIONARY/THESAURUS by Hachette Children's Books (Hardcover - 24 Aug. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews