Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A key which unlocks a treasure house., 12 Jun. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abridged Greek Lexicon (Hardcover)
This Lexicon comes in a few different sizes. The largest is expensive, and not something you could easily carry around with you unless you were engaging in weight lifting classes as well as Classics. However, it is replete with detailed examples of usage.

I have the Abridged version, of some 804 pages. I have found this to be perfectly adequate for assisting in reading Marcus Aurelius and Plato in the original. It contains many inflected forms of words as well, but not all accidence is covered.

The changing use of words is also provided - e.g. from the Classical to the Koine / New Testament usage.

The Abridged version is surprisingly portable yet meaty enough to warrant a prized position on my Classical Greek bookshelf... when it isn't in my hands helping to thwart my ignorance of a Greek sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity, 23 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This is the standard Greek dictionary, which is used throughout the English-speaking world of classical studies. The dictionary itself, with its recent update to include Linear B and other discoveries, remains essential today, as it was when it was originally published. Irregular forms of verbs are outlined in full, and, like Lewis and Short for Latinists, extensive quotations are given from Greek sources. Although this book may seem daunting to those beginning Greek, it is the essential reference work at all stages. Perhaps for the purposes of translation in the earlier stages it is also sensible to have a copy of the Intermediate Lexicon to hand, since it is a book of considerably more manageable a size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but a bit of a large investment!, 14 Nov. 2007
This lexicon is THE lexicon for Ancient Greek. If you are stuck on a passage, and look up a word, this dictionary may even have the section translated for you within the entry.

It is, however, a rather weighty tome so don't expect to be carrying it around in your bag everywhere (it is much larger and heavier than my laptop computer). That (and the price which is high for a student budget) is the reason why I went for the abridged version. If I really, really need the reference, there is always the university library (or a helpful professor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liddell and Scott - a trusted reference, 9 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abridged Greek Lexicon (Hardcover)
The original edition dates from the late 19th century and was particularly suited for school use when the so-called "dead languages" were still taught.

I chose this reference as it is a trusted source I have previously seen referred to.

The printing is small but clear. I suggest that anyone interested in studying ancient Greek will find this lexicon a very useful companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for the serious student but large and heavy, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had reached the point in my studies where I required a formal lexicon. This certainly fits the bill, but given its size and weight, it never leaves my study. If you need a travelling system or you are just beginning to study Classical or New Testament Greek I suggest an electronic tablet and www.perseus.tufts.edu/ which has been a great asset, or Oxford University Press in print.

The lexicon I purchased is the ninth edition with revised supplement. It was a big investment for me but worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great source book/Great Service, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book from the USA for my daughter's birthday. It was delivered to her at her school in Belgium within days. She is thoroughly pleased with the book and finds it immensely helpful in her studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lexicon Abridged from Liddell and Scotts, 4 April 2014
By 
stephen Walsh (BRADFORD, West Yorkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a successful abridgement of the magnificent Liddell and Scott. Almost every page is reproduced
clearly enough to use without difficulty. A worthy successor to the book I once owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for someone who has a passion for ancient greek, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
His review of the book is that he is thrilled with it. It is all he expected and more . Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abridged Greek Lexicon
Abridged Greek Lexicon by R. Scott (Hardcover - 26 Mar. 1963)
£36.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews