Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2000
I am a second year university student studying Philosophy and after an exhaustive search for an extended general reference aid to the subject, I believe that the Oxford Companion to Philoshophy is head and shoulders above similar texts on the market (e.g. Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, The Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philoshophy). It is not only informative, but in an easy to understand and accessable format, which lends itself equally well to the beginner as to the more advanced philosophy student. In my opinion this constitutes an indispensible reference to anyone interested in the subject of philosophy.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2004
This is a must have for any student of Philosophy or History of Ideas. This book provides a reliable and comprehensive overview of the central subjects in philosophy and covers both current and historical concerns. There are entries on key philosophers, that give a brief overview of their work and ideas. All entries are clearly written and most of are followed by a list of further reading. If writing for essays, the entries in the can usually be referred to as the contributors are clearly identified by their initials.
'Maps of Philosophy' are included as an appendix, showing the relatedness of different aspects of philosophy and their many theoretical subdivisions. Also included is a chronological table of philosophy outlining the development of philosophy and key events in the same.
This book will be an invaluable resource for anybody undertaking studies for an A-level in philosophy or for a Degree, however anybody interested in philosophy will find 'The Oxford Companion to Philosophy' interesting. Buy this book!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
A really great book to look up philosophers and philosophical terms. Especially if you are studying in the analytic tradition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
This book is very comprehensive. It is a ready companion to those studying philosophy. It gives a summary of not alone philosophers, but their philosophies and a whole lot more. Essential companion to anyone wanting to get into the arena of philosophy and allied subjects. Very readable, with the reader in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
Up until recently I would have agreed with the other reviewers but now I have doubts as I have started reading entries in my own field rather than just looking up entries in related fields. I would hope that other fields are properly represented but it is clear that anything to do with "Indian Philosophy" is not. Putting aside the question of whether Indian thinking should even be classed as philosophy since this means applying a Greek term to a totally different culture and mindset the entries are factually incorrect. This is probably in part due to some of them being written by Indians who have consciously or unconsciously the Indian nationalism agenda in mind. Any others must be due to being written by people who are not specialists in this field and have been misinformed, probably for similar reasons. There are too many errors to give all the references for them. It is that bad. One instance, for those who know, will suffice. Under 'Upanishads' the derivation for the word Upanishad is given according to the opinion of Max Muller as meaning "sitting at the feet of the master" and this has been considered incorrect for many years. As far as I know, only Staal still thinks it valid and even he would not describe it as "at the feet of the master" but just "sitting close". The correct meaning most scholars give is "correlation" or "secret doctrine". This is not untypical of these kinds of philosophy compilations and I only hope that more care has been given to the accounts of western philosophy as that is what I need it for. Anyone finding factual errors in the western philosophy entries, please comment.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
An outstanding reference book for philosophers, students of philosophy and others who may be interested in the history of ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Hmm. I've not read the whole book (!) but what I have read sounds a little stiff and dated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Strictly for college/uni students. Written in dictionary form. Zero humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Now this book is amazing I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Good copy. Great book. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)