Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for advanced course
Im into the second year of open university French and was finding the smaller versions didn't have the translations I needed. This book is brilliant...it hasn't failed to provide translations for more unusual words yet. The grammar section etc is very helpful.
Published on 20 Jun. 2009 by T. Wilkins

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing
Bought the CD version as an upgrade to an older version, since the old one won't install on Windows 7, 64-bit OS. I verified that it would work OK before buying but after 2-3 weeks I keep getting an error message on loading, which disappears eventually, if you keep clicking. However, it's easy to use though I actually preferred the old version. In the last couple of days...
Published on 29 Mar. 2010 by pamdo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for advanced course, 20 Jun. 2009
By 
T. Wilkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
Im into the second year of open university French and was finding the smaller versions didn't have the translations I needed. This book is brilliant...it hasn't failed to provide translations for more unusual words yet. The grammar section etc is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dictionary; better than Collins and cheaper too!, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
Spencer (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
I bought this dictionary without really assessing the market because I trusted an Oxford dictionary to be the best. Since then I have used the equivilant Collins-Robert (CR) dictionary in school, and while that in itself is very good, I'm still glad that I bought Oxford-Hachette. The typeface is clear, it has a vast array of sample letters, bills, contracts etc. in the middle section to assist people such as students who are going to live in France, and most importantly it has a HUGE range of vocabulary. Despite being cheaper than CR, it actually appears thicker, and it also comes with an accurate pronunciation CD-ROM. There isn't much to choose between them in terms of vocab, but I'd choose Oxford-Hachette over Collins-Robert simply because of the many helpful extras and it being a bit cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


206 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Typeface to Enjoy, 5 Nov. 2001
By 
Charlie Mansfield "Charlie Mansfield" (Edimbourg, Ecosse) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oxford have topped the French-English dictionary charts with this latest offering. At last, a publisher has given some thought to we ageing profs who have to use bi-lingual dictionaries in our work. The font of the typeface is actually readable. It must be a first.
Another great idea is a grey printed tab for each letter of the alphabet which acts as a fast way into the dictionary without cretaing a tear-point like the old cut-out thumb indices. An interesting by-product is that at a glance you can see which letter of the alphabet is the most common first letter for French words.
What else do I like? Ah, yes the panel inserts with greater background info on modal auxiliaries, meaurement, time etc.
What haven't they done? Still no translation into English of what the verb parts mean in the beautifully clear verb tables at the back. Then again I don't know a grammar book or a dictionary that has realised how useful this would be to learners. When will a publisher think of this? que il eut ete aime
Five out of five for Oxford Hachette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb publication, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
Ron Mathieson (Perth Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This is the best French/English dictionary I have ever owned, extremely comprehensive and easy to use. The purchase of the dictionary also entitles one to 12 months usage of the online version, which is absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant..., 1 Feb. 2010
By 
Diane Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
I bought this dictionary for my son who is at college. He found that with the smaller version he couldn't find the translations he was looking for. He says this book is brilliant and has all the translations for more unuasl words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best choice, 21 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This dictionary is clearly set out, has loads of useful guidance and information in it and even has letter templates that you may want to use. It would be ideal for anyone studying for GCSE through to adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...., 1 May 2009
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This book is truly incredible. Whether you're doing a degree, your A-levels or your GCSEs, this is a fantastic book to have. It's so easy to use and understand. I would DEFINITELY recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the CD version as an upgrade to an older version, since the old one won't install on Windows 7, 64-bit OS. I verified that it would work OK before buying but after 2-3 weeks I keep getting an error message on loading, which disappears eventually, if you keep clicking. However, it's easy to use though I actually preferred the old version. In the last couple of days I have found there are a few omissions, but it's still the best around. I do think an upgrade should be considered by the authors, as this version is now 7 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full dictionary comes pre-installed on Sony e-reader, 1 May 2011
By 
AJR (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
There's nothing to add to the almost universal praise for this dictionary. This review is just to mention that the full dictionary comes pre-installed on the Sony PRS-350 e-reader. This is fantastic for English speakers reading French books. To look up a word in the dictionary you just double-tap the word and the definition pops up in a band at the bottom of the screen. If you want to see the complete dictionary entry on the full screen, you then just tap a dictionary symbol.

I've compared a number of entries in my printed dictionary (2001 edition) with the entries in the Sony e-reader and have yet to find one that is not identical and given in full on the e-reader.

The only consistently missing item, which has sensibly been removed by the publishers, is the number that appears after verbs to tell you which conjugation the verb belongs to. The printed dictionary has an appendix which lists 80 verb tables but since these are not included on the e-reader, there's no point in listing the verb's number when you just want a French-English translation.

The printed dictionary occasionally includes translation mini-articles in feature boxes near to a word's main listing. For example, the entry for "chaque" begins with a boxed article that explains to French speakers the difference between "each" and "every" and when to use them.

Some of these are included on the Sony e-reader, some are not. For example, the one for "chaque" is there but the one for "moins" is not. Where they are missing it often, but not always, seems to be because they are the ones aimed at French speakers wanting to speak correct English, rather than English speakers wanting to understand French. This seems a reasonable approach.

The main thing is that, apart from these minor sensible differences, the whole dictionary is on the e-reader. For more details I've done a longer review of how it's used on the Sony PRS-350.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dictionary of dictionaries, 25 July 2011
By 
C. L. Dixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
It may be big, cumbersome, heavy, more expensive than other dictionaries, but that's a small price to pay for the sheer quality you're INVESTING in. Yes, this is an INVESTMENT! When will you EVER need to buy a bigger or better dictionary? Never. I upgraded from an Oxford pocket dictionary to the Hachette monster. I think having both gives you the best of both worlds - a pocket dictionary when you're out and about (e.g. in your bag), and a big hachette dictionary for reference when you're at home. I don't even need to mention the robust credibility of Oxford dictionaries...
Go for this. You won't regret it. But bare in mind its size and ask yourself whether it suits your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 10 May 2007)
£28.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews