Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for advanced course
Im into the second year of open university French and was finding the smaller versions didn't have the translations I needed. This book is brilliant...it hasn't failed to provide translations for more unusual words yet. The grammar section etc is very helpful.
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by T. Wilkins

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing
Bought the CD version as an upgrade to an older version, since the old one won't install on Windows 7, 64-bit OS. I verified that it would work OK before buying but after 2-3 weeks I keep getting an error message on loading, which disappears eventually, if you keep clicking. However, it's easy to use though I actually preferred the old version. In the last couple of days...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by pamdo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for advanced course, 20 Jun 2009
By 
T. Wilkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
Im into the second year of open university French and was finding the smaller versions didn't have the translations I needed. This book is brilliant...it hasn't failed to provide translations for more unusual words yet. The grammar section etc is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dictionary; better than Collins and cheaper too!, 12 Nov 2008
By 
Spencer (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
I bought this dictionary without really assessing the market because I trusted an Oxford dictionary to be the best. Since then I have used the equivilant Collins-Robert (CR) dictionary in school, and while that in itself is very good, I'm still glad that I bought Oxford-Hachette. The typeface is clear, it has a vast array of sample letters, bills, contracts etc. in the middle section to assist people such as students who are going to live in France, and most importantly it has a HUGE range of vocabulary. Despite being cheaper than CR, it actually appears thicker, and it also comes with an accurate pronunciation CD-ROM. There isn't much to choose between them in terms of vocab, but I'd choose Oxford-Hachette over Collins-Robert simply because of the many helpful extras and it being a bit cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 216 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Typeface to Enjoy, 5 Nov 2001
By 
Charlie Mansfield "Charlie Mansfield" (Edimbourg, Ecosse) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oxford have topped the French-English dictionary charts with this latest offering. At last, a publisher has given some thought to we ageing profs who have to use bi-lingual dictionaries in our work. The font of the typeface is actually readable. It must be a first.
Another great idea is a grey printed tab for each letter of the alphabet which acts as a fast way into the dictionary without cretaing a tear-point like the old cut-out thumb indices. An interesting by-product is that at a glance you can see which letter of the alphabet is the most common first letter for French words.
What else do I like? Ah, yes the panel inserts with greater background info on modal auxiliaries, meaurement, time etc.
What haven't they done? Still no translation into English of what the verb parts mean in the beautifully clear verb tables at the back. Then again I don't know a grammar book or a dictionary that has realised how useful this would be to learners. When will a publisher think of this? que il eut ete aime
Five out of five for Oxford Hachette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb publication, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Ron Mathieson (Perth Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This is the best French/English dictionary I have ever owned, extremely comprehensive and easy to use. The purchase of the dictionary also entitles one to 12 months usage of the online version, which is absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant..., 1 Feb 2010
By 
Diane Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
I bought this dictionary for my son who is at college. He found that with the smaller version he couldn't find the translations he was looking for. He says this book is brilliant and has all the translations for more unuasl words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best choice, 21 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This dictionary is clearly set out, has loads of useful guidance and information in it and even has letter templates that you may want to use. It would be ideal for anyone studying for GCSE through to adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...., 1 May 2009
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
This book is truly incredible. Whether you're doing a degree, your A-levels or your GCSEs, this is a fantastic book to have. It's so easy to use and understand. I would DEFINITELY recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the CD version as an upgrade to an older version, since the old one won't install on Windows 7, 64-bit OS. I verified that it would work OK before buying but after 2-3 weeks I keep getting an error message on loading, which disappears eventually, if you keep clicking. However, it's easy to use though I actually preferred the old version. In the last couple of days I have found there are a few omissions, but it's still the best around. I do think an upgrade should be considered by the authors, as this version is now 7 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy, 6 April 2009
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
I reseached this and I think that for the money Hachette is the best English - French dictionary there is for the beginner and probably up to advanced... Clearly laid out. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable French/English Dictionary, 16 Feb 2012
By 
F. Bostock "checks" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French (Hardcover)
Having moved to France, from England, in 2008 I have found this tomb of a dictionary (it is large and heavy!) indispensable. It lives on the top of our fridge and is used weekly, either to check a word or verb, or for the children's homework. Very comprehensive and easy to use. Worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65df474)

This product

The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 10 May 2007)
21.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews