Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but desperately needs updating.
This is a fascinating book that I can get lost in for hours. If you enjoy learning about the origins of words, then you will enjoy the Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology.

There are a few downsides to this book though. Firstly it was published in 1966 (46 years ago) and it badly needs updating. English has changed a great deal since 1966, and the lack of...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Translatorerer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology G. W. S. Friedrichsen Posted by Queen of Kemet
Good dictionary to add to your bookcase if your interest extends to the origin of the English language and how it is used and changed over time. Well edited and documented.
Published 1 month ago by Queen of Kemet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but desperately needs updating., 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating book that I can get lost in for hours. If you enjoy learning about the origins of words, then you will enjoy the Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology.

There are a few downsides to this book though. Firstly it was published in 1966 (46 years ago) and it badly needs updating. English has changed a great deal since 1966, and the lack of modern words and modern meanings is frustrating. I don't spend my time looking up rude words, but it is noticeable that there are no swear words in this dictionary.

There are frequent times when words are written in ancient Greek, which I imagine a more modern audience might struggle with.

There are too many abbreviations, which can make understanding some descriptions difficult. In some cases it isn't immediately clear whether words in the descriptions are translations of an ancient word or part of the author's explanation for the etymology.

It is extremely expensive for what it is.

If you realise that the dictionary has a few shortcomings, and money is no object for you, then I recommend buying it. It is probably the only book I own that I could never get bored of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best reference books I have ever bought, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Hardcover)
When I first purchased this book and read it, I am definitely sure that this is the one I have been looking for.

However, by the time I have studied a lot from this book, I realized that It had contained a lot of abbreviations and something difficult to understand at the beginner's level.

Not only that, but It would seem that It was written a long time ago and did not update new words which has recently formed and defined.

Nevertheless, I think that It is still a good read to look up when you wonder the origin of words. On a personal note, I place this book besdie my bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting!, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Hardcover)
It is an interesting book to understand English words. Probably, it is a summary of etymological part of the Oxford English Dictionary. For foreign English learners, the book is the source of imagination and understanding of English language. It is not so expensive and is worth buying. It will help you learn English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology G. W. S. Friedrichsen Posted by Queen of Kemet, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Hardcover)
Good dictionary to add to your bookcase if your interest extends to the origin of the English language and how it is used and changed over time. Well edited and documented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology
The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology by G. W. S. Friedrichsen (Hardcover - 26 May 1966)
35.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews