Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable
This revised edition of the classic 'Hart's Rules for Compositors and Readers' is a pocket-sized goldmine of advice about good, clear English style and punctuation.

Fans of earlier editions may be disappointed at the extent of the revision; not a lot of the content of previous editions is left in the book. The most obvious cuts have been the advice to...
Published on 30 May 2008 by lexo1941

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars JUST ANOTHER STYLE MANUAL
If you are familiar with Hart's Rules for Compositors and Readers, this new edition can only disappoint you, and bitterly at that. It has stripped away all the vital and excellent information to make your typesetting look professional and replaced it with mountains of advice for copy editors. Unfortunately this ground is already better covered elsewhere, while the advice...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Matthew Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 30 May 2008
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
This revised edition of the classic 'Hart's Rules for Compositors and Readers' is a pocket-sized goldmine of advice about good, clear English style and punctuation.

Fans of earlier editions may be disappointed at the extent of the revision; not a lot of the content of previous editions is left in the book. The most obvious cuts have been the advice to compositors, which were presumably made because the trade of compositor is now pretty much defunct in the world of digital printing. But they can console themselves, as I do, with the knowledge that older editions of the book are still available; my own (the 37th edition, trivia fans) is still on the shelf, and there are plenty of secondhand copies out there, if you're curious and want a taste of an earlier era of the OUP. In the meantime, it is ridiculous for working writers and editors to be nostalgic for redundant information in a book that was always designed to be of practical use.

It was a wise decision of the OUP to break up the huge and unwieldy Oxford Style Manual into the pocket-sized volumes of New Hart's Rules and the Dictionary for Writers and Editors. The advice is rock-solid, and the return to the small format makes the books far more manageable.

This is by far the most useful and concise style manual that I have encountered. I use it on a daily basis. I recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable, enlightening and educational book, 28 May 2013
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
New Hart's Rules - The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (by Oxford) is a most enjoyable, enlightening and educational book. It is cram-packed with advice, rules and has an excellent cross-reference system.

The book also points you to other works (notably different Oxford dictionaries) for when precise answers are need for each individual word - like in hyphenation - where to put the word break. The book also notes old rules and generally now accepted rules, as the passing of times things change and what was once unacceptable can now be acceptable.

The book also includes an index - a must! In addition, the text also covers the terms of writing and publishing and any derivative term(s) and name of which a word may come under. To-date, it is the most concise book I have come across and is actually a revised and updated version of The Oxford Guide to Style (2002) with a return to the original Hart's name of 1893 (Preface).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Does Neb (Caerdydd, Cymru) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
An excellent buy for anyone considering taking up proofreading/copy-editing. Full of clear, succinct examples of grammar and punctuation, with guidance on publishing standards. I'm constantly dipping into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide for editors, designers and artworkers., 9 Oct 2011
By 
Michael Preston "Michael Preston" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
As a designer, News Harts Rules is one of those brilliant little books that I repeatedly refer to when I'm working on book, magazine or publishing projects. It's full of fantastically useful information nuggets that are hard to track down elsewhere but that are essential when you're editing and typesetting text.

The correct order and names for preliminary book pages, copyright conventions, a guide to the correct use of capitalisation, accents and diacritical marks in dozens of languages, how to mark up copy correctly, and how to correctly reference and citate are just a few of the areas covered.

The book will be indispensable as a reference tool if you're a writer, an editor, a designer or a a typesetter or if your work is in any way connected with the process of pulling together text into a publishing project.

Put simply: indispensible, encyclopaedic and rather blinking good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're all published writers now, 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
Ever have to write a report? Send an important email to a boss or client? Use quotations or other references in a presentation? Copy editing, proofreading and typesetting (or general layout) used to be specialised jobs when the only way your words were going to be put in front of the public was after they'd been through a setting, proofing and printing process and appeared in solid form as a book, brochure or pamphlet.

In the last 20 years, we've all become self-publishers, so why not get things right? 1970s or 1970's? What do you call a fish with four i's? Does that look right?

This book was recommended to me by a professional copy editor and if you care about abbreviations, capitalisations, dialogue layout, use of foreign phrases etc. etc. you'll enjoy this book. If you ever have doubts about things like this, you'll find it useful too.

I speak as someone who does rely on the written word a great deal although I'm not a professional writer or editor - I don't believe there's any single universal resource that covers all aspects of writing - and presenting - English in a consistent and clear way but if you're the sort of person that has a couple of different dictionaries, at least one edition of Fowler and who sometimes wonders despairingly whether it's time to give up on the distinction between imply and infer and accept that an elephant is a creature of considerable enormity I'd warmly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating guide on what is involved in producing a book., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
The book has chapters on The parts of a Book, Spelling & hyphenation, Punctuation, Capitalization, Languages, Law, Science, Lists & tables, Illustrations, these are just a part of what is in the book. It's an extremely useful guide on how a book is prepared. Also a section on proof reading with the type of symbols used in correcting errors. Even the Serial comma is explained lucidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Harted, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
Authoritative, concise, excellently indexed this is THE must-have style oracle in a deceptively handy size. Brilliant as the style reference work and also interesting and pleasing enough for the occasional browse too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On balance worth having, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
Yes it isn't an update to the original Harts, so on that basis it loses a star due to OUP's re-use of the brand for something new.

Judging the book on its own merits, it is concise, clear, compact and reasonably authoritative. I would also say it goes wider than some style guides and looks at overall composition of a book (not all of which would be relevant to an author).

It also covers a very broad range of written material as you would expect from OUP, including mathematics, indexing, tables, captions and so forth.

Having had a lot of exposure to composition this is I would say written from the write point of view - I just need to find an second hand copy to satisfy my nostalgia for the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars JUST ANOTHER STYLE MANUAL, 18 May 2006
By 
Matthew Graham (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
If you are familiar with Hart's Rules for Compositors and Readers, this new edition can only disappoint you, and bitterly at that. It has stripped away all the vital and excellent information to make your typesetting look professional and replaced it with mountains of advice for copy editors. Unfortunately this ground is already better covered elsewhere, while the advice for compositors is lost forever. Also lost is much of the archaic charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No. 1, 19 July 2010
By 
I. Scheidegger (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference) (Hardcover)
The content of this book is a MUST for any writer, editor or publisher. Unfortunately, the printer did not pay attention to the paper grain: the pages jerk out of the hand; it's not a sheer pleasure to use the book from the practical point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Hart's Rules: The Handbook of Style for Writers and Editors (Reference)
Used & New from: £14.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews