Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I can tell you now that this book is a gem. It has helped me for years on end with academic research and I always find the word I'm looking for. The explanations in the book are detailed, without using words which are over-complicated. It also says briefly where the word originated from and gives deriveatives. Very impressive for a smaller dictionary.
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by mushrooms

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not pocket sized
if you are looking for a small dictionary to pop in your pocket this is not the one. Its more handbag or desk sized.
Published on 29 Sep 2010 by jan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
I can tell you now that this book is a gem. It has helped me for years on end with academic research and I always find the word I'm looking for. The explanations in the book are detailed, without using words which are over-complicated. It also says briefly where the word originated from and gives deriveatives. Very impressive for a smaller dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not pocket sized, 29 Sep 2010
By 
jan "jan" (brighton england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
if you are looking for a small dictionary to pop in your pocket this is not the one. Its more handbag or desk sized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fit, 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
I'm a man and therefore have big manly pockets, but this doesn't fit into any of my pockets. It's the size of a handbag, maybe. It would be alright sitting on your desk, but not in your pocket. I have to carry this in my underwear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket OED, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. J. Cook (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Excellent value, easy to use, but it has the limitation of all smaller versions...........some words
are not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'd need a big pocket, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Griffo (Medway, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Any dictionary is going to be a compromise between depth of definitions and how concise it is ... But if it defines itself as 'pocket' then it should live down to that size. There are other words to define this: Small or Portable - But 'Pocket' it ain't. That said, if you want a dictionary to sit in your desk drawer this could be the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Bought this for my 11yr old daughter for starting year 7 at school , larger than i imagined as it a pocket size, but my daughter has used it so much already so would recomend this product highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pocket Oxford Dictionary arrived in good condition and will be very useful, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
The Pocket Oxford Dictionary arrived in good condition and will be very useful. As i suffer from arthritis it will be easier to handle than my Large, heavy Dictionary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would prefer a smaller size, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
I was quite happy with my purchase until I went to WH Smith to see that there was a much smaller size of that dictionnary... actually really "pocket" one. A bit disappointed as my dictionnary is too big to be useful whenever I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Oxford English Dictionary, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Having bought my first Oxford Dictinary 40+ year ago,it was time for an up date,as the internet dictionary are suitable most of the time. l found that, this new Oxford is always close and hand while doing crossword.What l most like about it is the handy hints you find,it comes under the heading of USAGE:data,as well as Spelling notes.l am please with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dictionary, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pocket Oxford English Dictionary (Hardcover)
The dictionary arrived in good time and good condition. I gave it to my neice for her birthday and it's much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Oxford English Dictionary
Pocket Oxford English Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 7 April 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews