Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact Concise Reference
Font and entry style are overlooked by users of many dictionaries, but the clear printing and entry style of this dictionary make it much easier to use than even my English dictionary. The definition length is well-balanced with the conciseness I need while still giving a proper sense of the word. Although dictionaries may seem a bland topic, I strongly recommend the...
Published on 10 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
The Pocket Oxford is an adequate Latin dictionary, with a reasonable grammar section, but it has some weaknesses especially for someone just starting in Latin.

My main gripe is that its coverage of irregular verb parts isn't at all good. The Collins dictionaries (even the little Gem) are much better when it comes to having headwords for odd bits of verb...
Published on 11 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 11 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
The Pocket Oxford is an adequate Latin dictionary, with a reasonable grammar section, but it has some weaknesses especially for someone just starting in Latin.

My main gripe is that its coverage of irregular verb parts isn't at all good. The Collins dictionaries (even the little Gem) are much better when it comes to having headwords for odd bits of verb.

Another gripe is that this really isn't a pocket dictionary unless you have unusually large pockets!

My last gripe is that it is printed on really thick, rough paper, which makes it larger than necessary and not at all easy to flick through.

I'd advise beginners to buy the Collins Gem if you just want a dictionary or the Collins Dictionary and Grammar if you want a grammar as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact Concise Reference, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
Font and entry style are overlooked by users of many dictionaries, but the clear printing and entry style of this dictionary make it much easier to use than even my English dictionary. The definition length is well-balanced with the conciseness I need while still giving a proper sense of the word. Although dictionaries may seem a bland topic, I strongly recommend the Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary as the best print dictionary I have used and the easiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ..., 21 Feb. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
This dictionary is a set text for my 3rd-level OU Latin course, but in my opinion it is not up to the normal OUP standard. Although edited by James Morwood, it seems to be the insensitive abridgement of a much larger work. Although the basic vocabulary is probably adequate, there are not enough phrases/idioms present, esp. on the English-Latin side. On the plus side, the print format is very clear, and the grammar section is quite good.

May suit some, but if you're really serious about the finer details, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor binding., 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
I have a Cassell's Latin/English English/Latin dictionary, but bought this Oxford one because it was on the reading list for the course that I'm doing: what a mistake it was. Apart from the Cassell's being better than this one for reference, the binding for the Oxford one ensured that about 50 pages dropped out seperately in quite a short space of time. I've heard the same from others. Give me the Cassell's any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter dictionary, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
This dictionary is a must-have for anyone who is starting or is in the intermediate stages of learning Latin. Its small enough to carry around easily (although "pocket" is stretching the definition of the word), but is still substantial enough to cover the core of latin vocab. The central grammar reference section is compact and very useful, and compared to its rivals the Oxford dictionary feels much faster and easier to use. One small drawback; When translating slightly more advanced latin text into English, the dictionary simply doesn't have the size to cover all the latin you might come across, so I would recommend the full Oxford Latin Dictonary for advanced learners.

To summarise, an excellent, easy-to-use starter dictionary, perfect for basic/ intermediate Latin to English translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good practical dictionary, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
I bought this dictionary having decided to relearn the Latin I had forgotten from my school days. This dictionary is an excellent starter dictionary, with a good comprehensive vocabulary, and a clear layout. Words are easy to find and the definitions are concise and slear.
If I have only one niggle it is that I have found the section on verbs are little too brief. There is little about the formation of the tenses of the irregular verbs. Also I owuld have preferred to have a short explanation of what the tenses are, a sort of quick reference guide, to explain for e.g. that the imperfect tense is for continuious or incomplete actions which have happened in the past.
Having said that I would recommend this for anyone needing a concise dictionary for quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for its size, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
Has three main sections:

(1) Latin to English
Entries sometimes have little accompanying explanatory boxes explaining odd or special cases. Very useful.

(2) Grammar
Contains all the noun, adjective, advert, and verb forms, as well as listing some bits and pieces regarding irregulars. Also the tables for ille and hic.

(3) English to Latin

I found it more than adequate for my examination. Good value and portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very great tool at a fine price, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
I use this product for my university study of latin and so far, I've found it to contain the information I needed in a very easy-to-get-an-overview of form, which makes the time I have to spend on finding something significantly shorter.

All in all a very satisfying product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly laid out, 5 Mar. 2011
By 
Tom (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
Great dictionary. Clearly laid out and contains useful explanatory notes against prominent latin words (the workings of the senate, soldiering, gods, etc). Central portion contains a summary of latin grammar which, again, is very clearly presented. Excellent job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Paperback)
I find the Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary an invaluable help in reading the original Latin texts of Cicero' speeches, Caesar (De Bello Gallico) and Virgil's Aeneid to mention but a few of the classics I am going through right now.
Regards
L.J.Maidment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary by James Morwood (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2005)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews