Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2009
When I first looked inside this book, I was annoyed. I expected the book to be in chapters on grapes/regions/maturation etc. But it is essentially a dictionary, in alphabetical order, of everything to do with wine - which I though would make me bored within a few pages of reading - oh how wrong I was.

The book seemlesly flows from page to page not like 1,2,3,4 but 3,1,2,4. As there is other text highlighted which makes you refer back to something else. You can find yourself reading for hours on many differnt topics and not have to think of what to look up next, as the book seems to branch smoothly with information.

I am now the smug connoisseur at dinner partys and it was all too easy from this single book.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
We bought the Oxford Companion to Wine for a friend preparing his Wine diploma thinking it could be usefull. It turned out he already bought it and reads it on a daily basis as it is so usefull. So we kept it for ourself and find it fascinating. It answers every query and it is so logical you find what you are looking for very quickly... A must have if you are a wine lover, it is also a very nice book to have on your shelves!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
I bought this book because I needed to improve my knowledge on French and Australian wines. It not only helps the beginner but increases the former knowledge I had on some matters. It is also written in such an easy way that even difficult issues are made easier to understand.I really enjoy reading it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
This book has to be the most complete international reference on world wines. It was written for professionals and students who requires top informations and knowledge. Just amazing ! thanks to Jancis for a tremendous work.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Really brilliant! For beginners to experts- honestly it's great. You can read as much or as little as you like- and be as clever or dim about wine and still get the best out of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
It is a very well-written almost complete wine-book in every aspect. The only thing I can complain about is very few photos and figures. In overall, I am must satisfied
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Great reference book / encyclopedia with all aspects of wine covered in an easy to read format. Expect to lose a few hours reading something simple!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This book provides an excellent guide to wines. It was bought as a present for a near and dear relative and he found it splendid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
the book has a coverpicture in yellow, not the one with hands holding grapes. It is a very heavy book! haha,i was shocked when i first got the package because it was so heavy, when i opened it, i got the idea, it's a very thick book with good quailited paper, the prints are very nice as well. thanks a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Jancis Robinson writes so well, has such knowledge and insight in to wines, grapes, regions, in fact all that one needs to know and more, a great read and worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)