Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extensively brilliant
When I first looked inside this book, I was annoyed. I expected the book to be in chapters on grapes/regions/maturation etc. But it is essentially a dictionary, in alphabetical order, of everything to do with wine - which I though would make me bored within a few pages of reading - oh how wrong I was.

The book seemlesly flows from page to page not like 1,2,3,4...
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by Timothy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe too in depth for the average wine lover
I've read a little so far and had a quick glance at it, but its probably a little too technical for the person I bought it for.
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by Robert James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extensively brilliant, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
When I first looked inside this book, I was annoyed. I expected the book to be in chapters on grapes/regions/maturation etc. But it is essentially a dictionary, in alphabetical order, of everything to do with wine - which I though would make me bored within a few pages of reading - oh how wrong I was.

The book seemlesly flows from page to page not like 1,2,3,4 but 3,1,2,4. As there is other text highlighted which makes you refer back to something else. You can find yourself reading for hours on many differnt topics and not have to think of what to look up next, as the book seems to branch smoothly with information.

I am now the smug connoisseur at dinner partys and it was all too easy from this single book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good he already bought it...., 4 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
We bought the Oxford Companion to Wine for a friend preparing his Wine diploma thinking it could be usefull. It turned out he already bought it and reads it on a daily basis as it is so usefull. So we kept it for ourself and find it fascinating. It answers every query and it is so logical you find what you are looking for very quickly... A must have if you are a wine lover, it is also a very nice book to have on your shelves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
John De Andres Cao (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I needed to improve my knowledge on French and Australian wines. It not only helps the beginner but increases the former knowledge I had on some matters. It is also written in such an easy way that even difficult issues are made easier to understand.I really enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Sept. 2009
By 
Serge Pillot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
This book has to be the most complete international reference on world wines. It was written for professionals and students who requires top informations and knowledge. Just amazing ! thanks to Jancis for a tremendous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
Really brilliant! For beginners to experts- honestly it's great. You can read as much or as little as you like- and be as clever or dim about wine and still get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect wine-book, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
It is a very well-written almost complete wine-book in every aspect. The only thing I can complain about is very few photos and figures. In overall, I am must satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
Great reference book / encyclopedia with all aspects of wine covered in an easy to read format. Expect to lose a few hours reading something simple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable guide, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
This book provides an excellent guide to wines. It was bought as a present for a near and dear relative and he found it splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
the book has a coverpicture in yellow, not the one with hands holding grapes. It is a very heavy book! haha,i was shocked when i first got the package because it was so heavy, when i opened it, i got the idea, it's a very thick book with good quailited paper, the prints are very nice as well. thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read and reference, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
Jancis Robinson writes so well, has such knowledge and insight in to wines, grapes, regions, in fact all that one needs to know and more, a great read and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions)
The Oxford Companion to Wine (Oxford Companions) by Jancis Robinson (Hardcover - 21 Sept. 2006)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews