Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2011
This book is tremendous value and a really useful tool for anyone who writes, edits, proofreads etc. It is designed to facilitate a quick lookup for the spelling of 110,000 words including recommended word divisons (splitting a word at the end of a line of text). The two companion volumes that I would strongly recommend are the New Oxford Dictionary for Writers & Editors and New Hart's Rules. Three tools that will help your writing no end.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I use this book when there is no spell checker available, for example when I am putting lyrics under music. It is particularly useful for knowing where to break words when they are spread over several notes. For example - is it Mo-ther or Moth-er?
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This is not a book to rave about but more a really useful tool for those who need to know particular things about words - for me that has been correct word breaks - does a good job for this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
This is an excellent piece of resource. A great reminder of what I already know, a gap filler for things I don't and easy to use for when I'm not sure. I can not recommend this more highly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Given to a Brazilian friend studying for a Masters in English in Rio de Janeiro, it deals with words that sound the same but have different spelling and meanings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Use it as part of my work for reference purposes. Indispensable for the specialist but really not qqa light read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
This is a recommended purchase for any proofreader. It is NOT for anyone wanting full definitions. This guide helps you with trickier spelling and word divisions (for when you need to hyphenate words on a page). If you want definitions go for the Oxford English Dictionary, or the Concise Oxford English Dictionary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Very useful little book. Quick reference and answers all those daft little arguments over spelling instantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Always good to have a dictionary handy. It is small compact and concise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Excellent support for work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)