Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all writers
Its very size is comforting: my old one was becoming dog-eared so I invested in a new one. I find it difficult to believe there aren't more reviews of this because I would have thought it almost essential for anyone writing a book, screenplay, article, short story or speech, especially for material out of copyright.

Yes, the internet can be useful but is rarely...
Published on 29 July 2007 by Brian Levine

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated
Resistance is futile. Or is it? Because that quote is not in this dictionary of quotes. In fact, there's a distinct lacking in modern quotations. There are alot of quotes in this book, don't get me wrong, and I understand that one day I might want to know Robert South who died in 1716 said "An Aristotle was but the rubbish of an Adam, and Athens but the rudiments of...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by J. C. Chamberlain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all writers, 29 July 2007
By 
Brian Levine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Its very size is comforting: my old one was becoming dog-eared so I invested in a new one. I find it difficult to believe there aren't more reviews of this because I would have thought it almost essential for anyone writing a book, screenplay, article, short story or speech, especially for material out of copyright.

Yes, the internet can be useful but is rarely authoritative. This is. If you're serious about the creation of literary works in whatever form, avoid this at your peril...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quote!! A quote!! My kingdom for a quote!!, 1 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
This is the most amazing collection of quotations I have got my hands on. Look up quotes by keywords, by the authors or partial phrase if you only sort of know how it goes but want to read the whole quote.
Worth every penny and it will be a long time getting through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential reference, but..., 5 April 2008
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
I would not be without this reference book, and enjoy an occasional "flick through" it to read the erudite, profound or witty sayings or writings of men and women from throughout history to the present day, not to mention some anonymous ones, advertising slogans and catchphrases. The first quoted may be Homer, from the 8th Century BC, although some verses from the bible are probably the oldest expressions listed.

I find it less successful when I am trying to identify who it was who first used an expression or saying, but this must inevitably be the case. While biased towards the English language - there are 50 pages of Shakespeare's alone - there are quotations from the whole world, and even in 850 pages or so (the index occupies another 300 pages) no one can realistically include more than a small proportion.

I do wonder, therefore, why the editors include the Latin as well as the English translations of those quotations that originated in that language, but not, generally, the French, German or other foreign langauges of others.

While Wikipedia and the internet is a valuable resource as well, this is not a book that you will ever regret buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quotesville, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
A wonderfully engrossing tome. Time zips by as you turn page after page of the witty, the profound and the historical soundbites uttered by the great, the good and the infamous. A book for both pastime and education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ODQ6, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
It hasn't let me down yet when looking for infomation via the Listener, EV, Inquisitor crossword.
Worth every penny!

Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The floating quote, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Earlier editions, having less of the ephemeral, are of more intrinsic historical interest, but this one does have *fortyfour* misquotations, up from thirty squeezed in as an afterthought at the back of the revised 4th (1996). They should have included 'What's good for General Motors..', with a cross reference to Defence Secretary Charles E Wilson, and the persistent, protean, pseudo-Chestertonian 'When man ceases to believe in God he does not believe in nothing; he believes in anything'. GK wrote in The Oracle of the Dog, 'It's the first effect of not believing in God that you lose your common sense', which Emile Cammaerts paraphrased amongst other Father Brown quotes (The Laughing Prophet, 1937) as follows '"It's drowning all your old rationalism and scepticism, it's coming in like a sea; and the name of it is superstition." The first effect of not believing in God is to believe in anything: "And a dog is an omen and a cat is a mystery" (The Laughing Prophet, 1937, p211 - note that the relevant passage is *not* a direct quotation!!) which gave it legs at a time hungry for certainties. Darwinism in action! Eleven classic cartoon captions are also included - surely the way forward for quotation dictionaries PG (post Google)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 7 Feb 2009
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Resistance is futile. Or is it? Because that quote is not in this dictionary of quotes. In fact, there's a distinct lacking in modern quotations. There are alot of quotes in this book, don't get me wrong, and I understand that one day I might want to know Robert South who died in 1716 said "An Aristotle was but the rubbish of an Adam, and Athens but the rudiments of Paradise" but I'm wondering why the 20th and 21st centuries are so ignored.

Perhaps ignored is too strong a word. Perhaps the people that put together this book just don't think much of these people, the people that we, in real life, actually hear and actually quote. There are quotes from a thousand old poems, but few quotes from our soulful songwriters.

I've been left wanting. But, the good bits of this book is that the odd quote you vaguely know might just be in here, and the reference by keyword at the back is thoughtfully done. It has Shakespeare, Dr King, Dickens, Swift and alot of proverbs. I never knew that "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" was a mid 17th century quote, just thought it was Stephen King (who only has one quote in here).

It's nice to flick through, but it'll never beat a search engine on the internet if your looking for specifics. If you're looking for inspiration, then you'll probably be just fine with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Book, 20 Mar 2009
By 
J. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
This really is an ideal reference book for people who do quizzes and crossword puzzles. It's clear, comprehensive, well-laid out and currently (2009)often given as a source by crossword compilers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by Elizabeth Knowles (Hardcover - 9 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews