Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant dictionary!
This dictionary is great value for money. At 572 pages, it's large enough to mean that you probably won't ever find yourself needing to traslate a word that isn't included.
It is my third Greek dictionary and by far and away the best (one is by Collins, the other I picked up in Cyprus).
It's by no means a "pocket" dictionary, but still it is very...
Published on 6 Aug. 2007 by Albus Percival

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No plural forms
This is a good dictionary for Greek speakers learning English but not so good for English speakers learning Greek. The plurals of nouns are not given and the information about usage is limited. Good as a starter dictionary but I was rather disappointed overall.
Published on 19 May 2012 by Ursula Byrne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant dictionary!, 6 Aug. 2007
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
This dictionary is great value for money. At 572 pages, it's large enough to mean that you probably won't ever find yourself needing to traslate a word that isn't included.
It is my third Greek dictionary and by far and away the best (one is by Collins, the other I picked up in Cyprus).
It's by no means a "pocket" dictionary, but still it is very portable.
The font is fine; you don't have to squint, and the paper is a clean white, so there is a sharp contrast that makes the words very distinguishable.
If you're going to buy a Greek dictionary, I advise you to get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For The Most Part Very Handy, 4 July 2010
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
This is my first dictionary in my attempts to read books and articles written in Modern Greek and for the most part it serves my purposes well. The words in Greek are easily accessed, for the most part available (i.e. most words I need to look up are present), and have definitions that fit well into whatever narrative I am reading. The book is fairly lightweight and portable but is a a little too large for a pocket (or at least my pockets). The words are in easily read bold print and the definitions are in a much fainter print that does not hold up too well for me in fainter light. The book stands up well to repeated use (no pages falling out so far). There is a section on pronunciation and the principal parts of some verbs but no extensive grammar section. Overall I am very happy with this book as a convenient reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No plural forms, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
This is a good dictionary for Greek speakers learning English but not so good for English speakers learning Greek. The plurals of nouns are not given and the information about usage is limited. Good as a starter dictionary but I was rather disappointed overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Dictionary, 15 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
I would have given this product a five had a `phonetic English' translation also been incorporated in the English -> Greek section of the dictionary. For a total novice to the Greek language this section might prove a bit of a struggle as Greek translations of English words are typed in with Greek lettering (meaning you having to refer to a letter/pronounciation chart at the beginning of the dictionary just to find out how each word is actually spoken).

I guess this item would be perfect if you are already familiar with the Greek language and, certainly a boon for anyone studying, or looking to study, Greek, but as a complete stranger to the Greek language - who is looking to just use the dictionary as a handy tool whilst on holiday - a bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
It is well set out, with a clear print which, with the Greek language, being quite a challenge, plus ageing eye sight, is a must!!! it isn't too threatening and tome-like which appeals to me too. So far, I have found all I have been searching for, to complete my Greek homework, so great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek- English, English-Greek. Revised., 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Miss Mavrokefalos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek- English, English-Greek. Revised. Excellent dictionary with great help with grammar too. Definitely recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My best Greek dictionary, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
I know some greek and use this dictionary when I watch greek news. I have so far never encountered a word that it did not contain.
The translations seem to be accurate when I compare them to the context of the news. (the Greek-Swedish dictionaries were terrible)
The text is large and easy to read.
Good paper quality - daily use for about 2 months without any signs of wear.
To big for my pockets but I use it at home.
I recommend this Dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good one but not for pocket, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
It seems that it has many words, but you cannot tell that this dictionary is for pocket. It is very big to fit in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One star off because there is not easy way (eg, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
One star off because there is not easy way (eg. colored pages to mark sections) to quickly jump between the English-Greek and the Greek-English sections. I guess one can put his/her own markers of course, but it does make a difference to me. Overall, what one should expect from Oxford dictionary series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good size to be quite complete for beginners and average-advanced ..., 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek (Paperback)
Clear writing discriminating Greek letters, good size to be quite complete for beginners and average-advanced learners but to be handable enough too. Not a true pocket format (a rather thick and broad one, let's say), but exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek
£9.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews