Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical and concise grammar for students, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
The author's long experience of teaching at both school and university level is reflected in the great clarity of this book. It begins with an admirably clear glossary of grammatical terms. The emphasis is on the practical application of the constructions, which are illustrated with a wealth of examples. Practice sentences for translation into both languages enable the student to consolidate his knowledge. There are useful appendices on Roman money and dates and a clear guide to the pronunciation of Latin.
Grammatical tables take up far less space than in Kennedy but are nevertheless more than adequate. The lay-out of some of the tables of verbs could be improved - but this is a very minor fault in an excellent primer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact Concise Reference, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
This book is not simply a few pages of reference tables, but a proper-sized concise book that aids learning in an easy-to-use manner. At 194 pages, it has sections explaining not only declensions and conjugations but also entire constructions and phrasing. I find it indispensable alongside my other materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latin Grammatr, 5 Mar 2011
By 
Peter Hesketh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
English skeakers can get along without spending much time on grammar but with Latin things are different. The words of a Latin sentence can be put in any order and correct grammar makes the meaning clear. Often the meaning of a Latin sentence is more precise than its English translation. This is made apparent in this Latin Grammar book. Before using it I would recomend beginners to learn a basic vocabulary of about 500 words. The book then provides lots of examples showing how these these words with their inflections can be put together.

The letter 'v' does not occur in this book and so instead of 'cave canem', the warning reads 'caue canem'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I lost it, I'd buy it again., 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
The book is small, clear and comprehensive (at least up to A-level).
One of the things I look for in a reference book is ease of reference. This book has it. I can turn to the page I'm looking for in moments. And it generally satisfies my needs.

I bought the book when I moved from the Oxford Latin Course Book III to the Latin Reader. As the Reader doesn't have the grammatical summary at the back I got this instead. It has more than fulfilled it's purpose. With this book and Cassell's Latin Dictionary I can tackle any piece of Latin that I'm capable of handling and get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for GCSE/A-level, 6 Jun 2006
By 
Lily W "Aurelia" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
Speaking from expereince, the realisation that you really don't know the pluperfect passive subjunctive (the supine of the verb plus essem etc. if you were wondering) and your going to have to possibly write or at least be aware that it exists for prose composition can be quite a surprise a week before the exam. For all those who have ever been in a sticky latin grammar situation or need help getting through an Ovid translation for homework, this book is for you. It is clear, the expamples are exactly what you need (well, at least more often than not) and it's not a daunting grammar book that uses strange words you have never seen or will ever see again. If you need a grammar book, stop looking and buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 3 July 2012
By 
J. O. Weston (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
In planning and in presentation this grammar is extemely useful. For sorting out what you ought to have remembered - or pehaps never properly learnt - it is highly commendable. I wish I had had one years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, great price, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
As other reviewers have said, this is a great grammar resource: concise, clear and easy to use. It's also short enough to make it portable and is organised well.

My small criticisms, however, are that it doesn't contain a grammatical index which would have been handy. And that while it has practice sentences, it doesn't give you the translations as a check which rather evades the point.

It's always helpful to have a separate grammar from a learning text as explanations can vary in clarity. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latin Grammar, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
It is all there and quite logically arranged.
Easy to look up if youu are stuck.
Per ardua ad astra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars latin grammar, 30 July 2010
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
An excellent book to be used in conjunction with the latin dictionary and reasonably priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for GCSE, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Latin Grammar (Paperback)
For teaching Latin to oneself: this compilation of grammar is extremely useful.
For someone needing to revise before GCSE exams this summer: invaluable.
For reference: perfect.

After purchasing the Classical Greek equivalent, I invested in this little guide.
Great size - can easily be shoved in my school bag.
Great layout - easy to read and the pages are laid out in a logical manner.
It includes both accidence and syntax which is brilliant when it comes to learning/revising and it is presented in a user-friendly manner which is better than some of the other books I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Latin Grammar
A Latin Grammar by James Morwood (Paperback - 24 Jun 1999)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews