Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sapere aude - dare to be wise
It's easy to approach a book on a “dead” language with a feeling of scepticism about its usefulness or interest. However, the enduring mass appeal of Rome's classical period is evidenced by the recent mass media success of the epic Gladiator film and the launch of BBC/HBO's Rome series on TV both sides of the Atlantic. Anyone who has come to...
Published on 10 Nov 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amo, Amas, Amat....
I bought this for a friend and so i have no ida actually how good or bad or OKay it is. I only hope she is happy with it.
Published 5 months ago by Tallincat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sapere aude - dare to be wise, 10 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
It's easy to approach a book on a “dead” language with a feeling of scepticism about its usefulness or interest. However, the enduring mass appeal of Rome's classical period is evidenced by the recent mass media success of the epic Gladiator film and the launch of BBC/HBO's Rome series on TV both sides of the Atlantic. Anyone who has come to this page with even a passing interest in the Latin language and the ways of ancient Rome should persevere and hit the buy now button - you won't be disappointed.
This book is immediately accessible with alphabetical listings of its quotes, usually accompanied by a brief description of the origins of the phrase and current usage/appearance in everyday English. A general index of quotes by topics - eg Love, Time, Rage and even a section on famous mottoes enhances the usefulness of this book. If you are ever stuck for a word or phrase to express how you are feeling, pick up this book - you may be surprised how often the English translation is as succinct as its Latin counterpart.
There is also a preface on Latin pronunciation and a concise section on the Latin writers to further enhance the reader’s understanding of the culture and sub-text of the time.
In summary this book will be appeal to anyone who has an interest in Rome, the culture of the time, the Latin language or even the evolution of our own language. It is accessible to anyone regardless of whether your previous Latin experience has been reading Asterix the Gaul or Caeser’s De Bello Gallico; and equally as rewarding to both readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compact reference, 17 May 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
This is a great compact reference of Latin words, phrases and quotations. For sure it's not as comprehensive and thorough as my combined pairing of Jon Stone's Latin for the Illiterati (mostly short expressions and phrases with some longer quotations) and his Dictionary of Latin Quotations, but this is a good selection nevertheless for quick reference or simply dipping into as a bedside book. And it beats Ehrlich's Dictionary of Latin Tags and Phrases into a cocked hat.

Unlike the two Stone books which are straight lists of phrases plus translation, many of the expressions are accompanied by extra pertinent information, such as historical background or more detail on the literary source from whence it derives. My only complaint, if you like, is that source information is not provided for many entries which look suspiciously like literary quotations rather than common expressions, which is a shame. But I'm fault finding in saying that. It's a handy little volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases, 11 Aug 2009
By 
T. D. Moorhouse "Pavo Absolutus" (Chichester,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
For the lighthearted academic letter writer and columnist - an irresistable collection of everyday Latin as expected from the Romans.

Ever wondered where that Latin phrase comes from ? This excellent little book will probably have the answer.

Comes with correct annotations and attributes to the Roman and Greek scholars initiating much of the content.

Never out of reach from my keyboard :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latin Phrases, 24 May 2013
By 
Peter Hesketh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
This book interests me because I have recently taken an interest in Latin which is suited to using the least number of words for expressing ideas. Often it uses half the words required in English for the same or similar proverb.
There are more than 1000 phrases to do with law, religion, human emotions and even weather. The list, of course could be added to.Each phrase has an English tranlation
Many of the phrases are attributed to the likes of Horace or Virgil and an explanation of the circumstances is included.
One item surprised me. I did not know that the title fidei defensor had been given to Henry Viii by Pope Leo. Seem Henry and Luther did not agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but not a dictionary of words., 6 April 2008
By 
Guy Dalziel (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
For me a dictionary of words would list every word alphabetically with the meaning of the word. This, however, is a dictionary of phrases from which you can deduce what each word means: such as 'lupus in fabula' (the wolf in the story) and 'lupus pilum mutat, non mentem' (the wolf changes his coat, not his character) - in this case lupus clearly means wolf. This is still a good book and will certainly help greatly. It has a pronunciation guide but no grammar guide, and it's hard to see how far into the language this book will take me.

If you want a book that lists all the commonly used Latin phrases then this is for you, but if you want to learn Latin then this book should be supplemented which another that actually teaches you the language and proper grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good- Helped a lot!!!, 31 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
This book has saved my life. I didn't understand many words that my fellows used, and with this dictionary, i can surprise them with more phrases and words in latin. I also recommend Learn Latin by Peter Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reference addition, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
An interesting and useful addition to the library, adding a dimension to understanding that one otherwise ignored and googled to solve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
Brilliant comprehensive and easy to use book, gave this to my husband as a present and is exactly what he wanted. He says "Hoc erat in votis"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Reference, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
This book, from a trusted publisher, is just the tool required when the memory throws up some doubt about a phrase from past learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Latin words and Phrases, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases (Paperback)
Have always been irritated when Latin clues appear in Crossword puzzles - not any more with this book. Also stacks of historical info, Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab43bf30)

This product

A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases by James Morwood (Paperback - 26 Mar 1998)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews