Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and wide ranging
This is a serious textbook, extremely well written, and not for the fainthearted. Buy the companion book with the solutions to the problems unless you have a tutor or are taking a course. As an engineer who uses maths as a means to an end, I'm finding it hard going, but well worth the effort.
If you just want a cookbook of algorithms, look elsewhere. But if you're...
Published on 21 July 2002 by middenview

versus
13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a quick reference book.
I was looking for a desktop reference book to provide some background information on the probability distributions that I needed in my modelling work. This book does not provide easily accessible information, unless you are familiar with the language of set theory.
The biggest complaint I have, is the fact the exercises in the book have no solutions; to get the...
Published on 28 Sept. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and wide ranging, 21 July 2002
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
This is a serious textbook, extremely well written, and not for the fainthearted. Buy the companion book with the solutions to the problems unless you have a tutor or are taking a course. As an engineer who uses maths as a means to an end, I'm finding it hard going, but well worth the effort.
If you just want a cookbook of algorithms, look elsewhere. But if you're willing to take some time, I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and up-to-date., 29 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
This book is too fast-paced for most beginning undergraduates, but is excellent for honours students in mathematics and statistics. It is also the best book I have seen for research students in mathematics or statistics and an excellent resource for anyone doing research in mathematics, statistics, economics, operational research or computing who needs a thorough, up-to-date text on probability theory.
The book starts with five chapters on standard probability theory and then covers a variety of topics of interest to a wider audience. These include Markov processes and queueing theory, stationary processes, martingales and diffusion processes. It covers succinctly topics such as brownian motion, the Black-Scholes equation, Markov chain Monte Carlo and the Metropolis algorithm. Even topics such as Erdos' probabalistic method are covered in the exercises.
There are lots of entertaining and helpful comments about the problems and history of probabilty. The exercises are interesting and instructive.
I would have liked some more references in the text to help follow up some of the methods described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book at an intermediate level, 23 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
This book is by no means an introduction but for those with familiar with basic set and probability theory it provides a comprehensive overview of the field. The theory is built up from simple axioms [P(A) = N(A)/N] and then extended over ~600 pages to advance stochastic theory. *Thumbs up*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the lectures..., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
I attended a course by Prof. Geoffrey Grimmett and the book reflects this well as the book constantly keeps the motivation behind the mathematics at the forefront without being afraid to show the use of more abstract ideas. I now use the book as a reference and bought it despite being available online for free (most probably generally allegedly in an illegal fashion). Most mathematics books, I find, have the problems with poor notation leading to confusion or lack of suitable problems to stop the tendency to treat the subject as a spectator sport; not true at all for this book. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A best book before you study stochastic calculus, 4 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
One of the best book I have ever read on stochastic processes but I will strongly recommend to read some abstract probability with this great book because the probability given in this is not in very depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All rounder textbook on probability, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
This is perfect for the math undergraduate who wants to know more about probability. It covers the basics, which a student would see in their first year of university, then goes on to many other more complex topics which a student might study in their second or third year. A great textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
These processes are not easy to understand, but this book serves to introduce them in a structured manner. If only this book had been available when I was an undergraduate a long time ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
lecturer recommendation, very useful! lots of proof in detail which helpful. nothing more need to say, hope my exam goes well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best book I have ever read, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
This is the best book I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Probability and Random Processes (Paperback)
Brand new as stated. Very good service, arrived promply and well within the timescale indicated. Would recommend this supplier to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Probability and Random Processes
Probability and Random Processes by David Stirzaker (Paperback - 31 May 2001)
£38.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews