Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 14 Aug. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (West Boldon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
I found that this handbook was very well laid out, with the various clinical deseases and more importantly (for me) how to identify the organisms. This gives a concise overview of the important aspects of the different infections and would be very useful if studying Microbiology for Biomedical Science either at degree level, specialist portfolio or general CPD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and concise, pictures would be good., 7 July 2009
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
This is a handy compact summary of infectious diseases. It is well laid out and each subject generally gets a 2 page spread which means its easily digestible, with a consistent format.

As a general physicians i've found it very helpful given the frequent presentation of infectious disease to the acute medical take and complications arising in hospital patients.

I imagine registrars in ID would require more detailed texts but the beginner or SHO would certainly benefit.

The other main limitation is the lack of pictures, especially when dealing with skin infections. But then pictures would probably take up too much room in a book like this and i suppose that why they left them out.

Its also worth noting that this is a first edition and i imagine it will be even better with future editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, quick reference text for Microbiology, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
I found this book very useful for quick reference when studying medical micro, infection control and various other microbiology related modules on my Biomedical science degree.
Would highly recommend this text to anybody studying the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book range, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
As usual as all books in Oxford handbook range it served you well as reference book. I have sold it on now as I have moved into another speciality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
Needed this book for work easy to have information to hand excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
As a microbiologist I have found this really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, 20 April 2010
By 
Dr. O. A. Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
In the true fashion of the Oxford Handbook series, this book gives a concise synopsis of a rather complex topic using simple, understandable terms.

This book is an excellent, detailed, but at the same time, a quick guide. It is definitely a recommendeded one for Foundation Doctors, registrars in any specialty and consultants in a range of specialities such as Communicable Disease Control, Public Health, General Medicine, Paediatrics, Surgery, etc. It is also highly recommended for other healthcare professionals, such as infection control nurses and Directors of Infection Prevention and Control, who have an interest in 'bugs'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
Excellent book speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful even for Specialist trainees.. but a few errors, 21 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
Overall this book is good value. As stated by previous reviewers it is digestible, portable and comprehensive considering its size. It is mostly a summary of Mandell (pick any bug; read the relevant chapters from each book and you will notice a remarkable similarity!) which has to be a good thing. The format allows you to search and read either by bug or by disease and contains some useful infection prevention tips.
It provides light relief from heavier texts for Microbiology and ID trainees and yet it probably contains enough information even for most of the FRCPath Part 2. HOWEVER if you are doing specialty exams beware there are a few significant errors (for instance suggests that some streptococci are catalase positive) so it make sure you use it in conjunction with a larger textbook/experienced colleague and double check any dubious facts.
I don't think such errors would affect the generalist using it as a reference text.
I look forward to the next (corrected) edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious Diseases, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Ahmad (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Flexibound)
This book is very useful for references on Microbiology for infectious diseases good to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
£28.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews