Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear, well laid out approach to physiology
This book is easy to read but also gives enough details to cover the essentials of a human physiology course. The lay-out breaks it down into clear sections that make it easier to read and learn. It explains itself clearly and makes some of the more complicated issues easier to handle and digest. If you are having difficulty with another text then get/use this one!
Published on 23 Oct. 2001

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful starting point for medical students
Human Physiology is a useful introductory text to physiology, particularly for first year medical students who may find some of the more detailed texts somewhat overwhelming. This book is well written and approaches the various topics clearly and systematically. Unfortunately it does not provide quite enough detail to be used as a primary reference source, though it can...
Published on 19 Jan. 2003 by sdcknights


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful starting point for medical students, 19 Jan. 2003
Human Physiology is a useful introductory text to physiology, particularly for first year medical students who may find some of the more detailed texts somewhat overwhelming. This book is well written and approaches the various topics clearly and systematically. Unfortunately it does not provide quite enough detail to be used as a primary reference source, though it can be valuable if used along side another more detailed book such as 'Physiology' from Berne and Levy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clear, well laid out approach to physiology, 23 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This book is easy to read but also gives enough details to cover the essentials of a human physiology course. The lay-out breaks it down into clear sections that make it easier to read and learn. It explains itself clearly and makes some of the more complicated issues easier to handle and digest. If you are having difficulty with another text then get/use this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First point of call, 29 May 2007
By 
Mr. S. Khanna (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
Well laid out. easy to read. lots of nice diagrams. ok so it won't get you honours points but should contain enough to pass and is far less intimidating than those huge physiology texts. great for preclinical medics. not enough detail for pure physiology students though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok but not great, 5 April 2013
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
My biggest issue with this textbook is that every term is defined once and only once. If you miss the first definition or have skipped that particular section one cannot rely on any subsequent help. There are no reminders. In general it is not easy to study from.

The best textbook i have ever come across, and therefore my benchmark for all other textbooks is organic chemistry by clayden. Since the clayden textbook has demonstrated to me how easy and almost enjoyable learning can be, i find the pocock textbook frustrating that less effort has been made to make it understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have in your bookshelf, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
Really well written book that provides explanations to all the subtopics in physiology. I used this as an introductory text to all my modules for the first 2 years of the Medicine course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 April 2009
By 
Ms. M. Gorman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
Loads of detail, easy to read and useful summaries at the end of topics. Also laid out in a really comprehensive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
This book is sooooo helpful! It covers everything and it analyses everything in a simple way which you can understand! A really useful book for all medics! You should buy it 100%! I used a lot of physiology books until I decided that this is the one that suits me best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for students, 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
I am a student nurse and my course has a great focus on the life sciences, physiology being one of them. This book has been a life saver in making sense of my lecture notes as it gives info in a way that's easy to understand. Great for using to bulk up study notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
This product arrived promptly and in great condition. Absolutely nothing wrong with it, good price for quality. Strongly recommended. The fact that it was second hand made no difference as it was intact and didn't show any evidence of having been used before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic standard textbook, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) (Paperback)
Currently studying adult nursing, this book is a wonderful core textbook for all fundamental anatomy and physiology knowledge. Dr Gillian Pocock is my lecturer and she is an extraordinary intellectual and very intelligent lady :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts)
Human Physiology: The basis of medicine (Oxford Core Texts) by Christopher D Richards (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2006)
Used & New from: £3.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews