Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The B in CBT
Whilst Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) may be all the rage it must be acknowledged that the Behavioural bit often seems to be playing second or even third fiddle to the Cognitive bit of the title. Yet when it comes to that classic therapeutic comment "I understand what you're saying but it doesn't feel right?" otherwise known as the 'head/heart divide' you can't beat...
Published on 17 May 2008 by Mr. Martin E. Sugg

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good idea, however
I'd hoped that this would help to overcome the age old problem of finding it difficult to generate appropriate behavioural experiments. Unfortunatley, it seems that this book is simply a collection of trusted experiments collated in one volume; useful but not ground breaking. In addition, a number of the experiments are not tied with sufficent specifcity to the target...
Published on 19 Aug. 2009 by IAPT ED OUT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The B in CBT, 17 May 2008
By 
Mr. Martin E. Sugg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) may be all the rage it must be acknowledged that the Behavioural bit often seems to be playing second or even third fiddle to the Cognitive bit of the title. Yet when it comes to that classic therapeutic comment "I understand what you're saying but it doesn't feel right?" otherwise known as the 'head/heart divide' you can't beat a good behavioural experiment: or as better therapists have said 'you don't have to believe me, test me'. This invaluable book (I know it has been said before) really is one of a kind, written by some of the best CBT practitioners currently working in the UK it is a resource that any therapist should have to hand. Covering a wide range of psychological disorders/ difficulties that clients present with; it offers practical, robust experiments that can be collaboratively agreed upon with the client to explore, challenge and modify unhelpful beliefs, schemas and outcome predictions that are causing the individual psychological distress. A gem of a book. One of the few on the bookshelf in my practice which really is dog eared and in regular use (and so often 'borrowed' by colleagues of all therapeutic persuasions I should put a chain on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for students of CBT and more experienced practitioners alike, 18 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
I bought this book as I was working with a patient with needle phobia and had been unable to find a good conceptualisation specific to this elsewhere. This book has this and clear, detailed guidance on the key interventions and cognitions important in this area, as well as theoretical and some statistical information about each disorder (prevalence, etc). Having looked at the other chapters they appear to be equally clear and helpful.

Clearly a major reason for buying this book is for guidance on appropriate behavioural experiments and these are indeed very helpful. My reason for not giving 5 stars is that the experiments on phobias weren't exactly what I needed (not quite relevant to my client's problem) - having said that it gave me enough ideas to create my own experiments and there was a good range included. They can't include everything!

My absolute favourite parts of the book are the 'tales from the front line' stories of experiments not going quite to plan at the end of each chapter. In fact they are so entertaining that I went through the book reading all of these first! Some of them are about subjects I have wondered, "What would I do if that happened?" which is useful.

I would definitely recommend this book to both CBT trainees and to experienced practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!!, 6 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
This book is excellent for those studying on any of the IAPT courses especially if you are having to present videos for change methods. It goes through a lot of the most common presentations and how to carry out a behavioural experiment for each, unfortunately, if your client does not fit into one of the common presentations then it's not as good but can give you an idea of how you might set up your own based on the guidance it offers. Anyone on a CBT course will really enjoy having this book in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for trainee, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Sallyann Eanor "dillydally x" (South yorkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
This book is an excellant book for anyone with an interest in CBT. It is easy to read, well referenced and evidence based. Giving lots of clinincal examples for many disorders. It is a good practical guide for behavioural experiments and would recommend this for any CBT trainee but I think I'll still refer to this once an experienced therapist.
Arrived promptly. No concerns with delivery.
Would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, 14 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
I found the book very readable, practical, useful, and wish I had found it earlier. I have been practising CBT for 8 years and have lots of books and resources, and this is now a favourite and I am sure it will be for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must-have' for all CBT students... says Daniel Mirea, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
If you have been attending one my courses... Yes... you are looking at the right web-page, this book is definitely on your reading list!!! You probably wont regret adding this manual to your collection. Enjoy the reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent compilation of behavioural experiments, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful addition to the library. Provides a host of ideas and suggestions relating to the testing of unhelpful cognitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ocford guide to behavioural experiments in cognitive therapy, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
Excellent scholarly book looks at facts and evidence based and reaserch based practice a genuinely good read for scholars alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
A very informative book. Completely covers all areas of minor mental health disorders. All you need in one little package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Science and Practice) (Paperback)
ideal for any practitioner in mental health
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews