Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars northern medical scientist, 20 April 2007
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
When faced by the enormous volume of information available today the medical student and junior doctor may struggle to know where to start. This excellent handbook provides a wide ranging synoptic review of anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology and pharmacology, organised by organ systems. The key information can be found in this book either when starting to learn a topic, when revising for exams or when faced by clinical problems. The chapters are well organised and supported by a comprehensive index. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 May 2008
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I dip into this book often and it ever fails to impress me with the depth of information and its straightforward no nonsense style that is lacking in the big books. Full marks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for medical students, F1 and beyond/, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
This little book is PACKED with everything from anatomy to physiology, in the well established, easy to use format of the Oxford Handbooks. Superb diagrams explain processes such as the clotting cascade clearly along with short explanations. It is a systems based book, covering virually all the physiology needed in medical school. It's also small enough to fit into a bag to take on placements at medical school or into work junior doctors.
Highly recommended to all medical and dental students, student nurses and junior doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential for undergraduate medical field students, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Maybe not the most beautiful (only a few pages have colours) or pleasant to read (small writing, thin pages) but certainly serves its purpose to help the medical student, wherever he/she is!
Contains a lot of relevant information in very little space. Nicely organised to allow fast retrieval of information - detailed contents, abbreviations, sensibly divided into logical chapters and sub-chapters, good 'overview' pages, bullet-points, and usually useful diagrams.
Was always in my bag in my first year of Physiology degree, used it to get the basics before lectures covering new material. Since then resides on my bedside table; still check it to revise or check details when in doubt!
Please note: the version which I own (2008) contains quite a lot of small mistakes which can confuse the reader. So do not learn by heart bits of it without having checked them first. Unless all of this has been revised since, it feels a bit like a draft of what it should be. A very useful one nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I am a first year Medical student and am currently on a PBL based course and so am expected to do alot of reading up from reliable resources. I feel that this book is perfect for my needs. It goes into a suitable amount of detail in all areas and is a perfect ground base knowledge for my studies. Although more reading is required for the course from other resources, this book is a perfect starting point when studying a certain area or system in medicine and an excellent reference when studying for exams.

The diagrams (although not in colour) are excellent and the book explains things in an easy to understand way cutting out alot of unnecessary knowledge that is included in other textbooks making it easier to read.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone studying Medicine or anatomy and physiology. Found it very useful to read in conjunction with Oxford clinical handbook of Medicine and also required is a Medical Dictionary since some terms are not explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great text, 25 Nov 2010
By 
Dr. Alan Glaze "Dr G" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Really well written text, covers wide range of medical topics. Not always that in depth, but a perfect starting place for further reading into a specific subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book-easy to keep on you whilst learning, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Richard Griffiths "SoulFireMage" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I'm teaching myself until I can get into Uni someday so I bought this on a whim after flicking through it. It's really good-they've stripped down the explanations and details the minimum concepts you actually would need to know in each of the mentioned sections.

You can't *quite* teach yourself medical science just from this book-however you could give it a good go :). Certainly would allow a student to revise his most important scientific basics as this covers most things albeit briefly.

I plan to get the clinical one next as they reference each other.

Good value for money. If your studying these subjects at Uni and need to pick one book to revise with whilst on holiday etc then this is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the first one-two years of med school!, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
At med school there are two groups of books you need to consider.

1) Those you need to buy - they remain useful even into post-grad training (anatomy, physiology, pathology, pharmacology, histopath, clinical medicine)

2) Those you need to borrow from the library. They are good for helping you through certain periods of reading/training.

This is a book you should get from the library in my opinion. Into the clinical years of med school - this book has just been collecting dust. It is however very concise means of revising your basic science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for umsle step1 review, 29 April 2007
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
This book may be useful to those studying for the usmle step1. It covers the basic sciences relatively well and it can by used as supplement to more usmlelish editions as contains and low-yields facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Medical Sciences: 1 (Oxford Medical Handbooks) by Robert Wilkins (Paperback - 13 July 2006)
Used & New from: 1.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews