Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars completely indispensible, 30 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
My copy of this book is breaking apart at the spine and has a few missing pages: this is a testment only to the fact that I've used it so much. I'm an SHO in Paediatrics now, and, since I bought this book in third year I have used it countless times as both as a quick reference guide, and during revision for numerous exams. I quickly came to rely on this book and it's yellow-skinned cousin (OHCM) for brief and memorable introductions to ailments I encountered on the wards and during my revision. This edition is divided into several chapters including Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics, Ophthalmology, ENT, Dermatology, A£E, Orthopaedics, General Practice, and Psychiatry (amongst others).
While some might feel the poetic subtext on many of the pages is somewhat annoying and pretentious (read the page entitled 'a journey on foot' in the orthopaedic section), I have always found it a welcome augmentation to the raw medical dimension contained within the books pages.
No junior doctor in the UK should be without these books, of that I am certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential buy, but its not quite OHCM..., 24 Mar. 2008
'Salt and Vinegar', as this book has affectionately come to be know, has become something of a bible to a 3rd year med student. It has most of the information you'd need for the specialty rotations.
When compared to the OHCM, however, improvements to the layout of some of the text needs improving.
Also, the 'insights' given in this book- quotes from books, ethical tangents, are all too often not insightful at all. They're long and not always optional reading, as they're woven into the essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any med. student for quick reference on the wards, 20 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This book together with the Handbook for Clinical Medicine is absolutely essential for survival on the wards. If you havn't got a clue what's wrong with the patient, what the consultant is talking about or what you are meant to do next- these books help you out. They are compact enough to stick in your pocket, but have enough information crammed in to tell you everything that you could be expected to know about any condition. As I said this is a must for any med. student or junior doc. The proof really is that these aren't some new fancy books that have to be put to the test now, everyone I've spoken to seems to have been using them for years- Good Luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties, 6 Nov. 2008
By 
Renal (Royal London) - See all my reviews
An absolutely vital handbook that helped me significantly through medical school. Although it's nowhere near as comprehensive as separate textbooks are, it's an invaluable aide memoir that does go into significant detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all medical students, 28 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties (Oxford Handbooks) (Paperback)
After clinical medicine/surgery this is the best all round pocket handbook book for most medical students.Includes most of the mainstream specialities including paeds, ent, obg/gynae, psych, ophth (lots of fundoscopy pics), derm and T&O. It also has a GP chapter but I found it a bit waffley- its more focussed on communcation and public health than common presentations in general practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have text, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties (Oxford Handbooks) (Paperback)
This is another book in a very good Oxford series.Building on the Oxford handbook and providing more information for different medical specialties, it's a useful book to carry on wards in case of emergency when you first start as a junior Dr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK FOR WARDS, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GOOD BOOK...HANDY IN THE WARDS. It is helpful for all residents, SHO and RMO's and also those preparing for Plab exams..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
4th year in a single book. Vital for any medical student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed yet whimsical, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Covers the specialities well, especially useful for third year med school. It does however occasionally go off on tangents or uses odd metaphors (which on the whole is quite entertaining) such as its description of the patient-centred approach to Down's syndrome: "let's go down to the farm and milk the cow. Let's see how muddy we can get". I find this makes it more readable and it's a nice break from a typical textbook. I personally don't think I'm losing out by because of the style it's written in but it may not suit those who like the formal style of most textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties (Oxford Handbooks)
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialties (Oxford Handbooks) by Murray Longmore (Paperback - 30 Jan. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews