Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reptiles and amphibians
This excellent book by 38 contributors deals with amphibians(caecilians,salamanders and newts,and frogs and toads)plus reptiles(turtles and tortoises,lizards, snakes,tautara and crocodilians)
There are introductory chapters on amphibia and reptilia which discuss evolution,physiology,life history andbehaviour. There is a seperate entry to the various orders listing...
Published on 24 Oct 2008 by G. I. Forbes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
This book is not up to the same standard as the Oxford birds or mammals encyclopedias. But never the less had some good information in. Could have done with more information on monitors.
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by C. Soden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reptiles and amphibians, 24 Oct 2008
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
This excellent book by 38 contributors deals with amphibians(caecilians,salamanders and newts,and frogs and toads)plus reptiles(turtles and tortoises,lizards, snakes,tautara and crocodilians)
There are introductory chapters on amphibia and reptilia which discuss evolution,physiology,life history andbehaviour. There is a seperate entry to the various orders listing number of species,distribution,habitat, size ,colour longevity and conservation status.
The scale drawings relate to a 6" man and are first class.Ther is a good glossary and bubliography. A book to be highly racommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, 1 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
A tough job covering these animals. I thought that although a little slim, the book is about right for the interested non-specialist. Nicely printed, with clear illustrations and a good "feel". Worth the asking price too. However, the sheer comparable size of its sister publication on mammals does lead me to wonder why more space couldn't be made for our cold-blooded descendants? Certainly worth buying though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of rather neglected animals, 4 May 2014
By 
Dr. Alan Green (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
I bought this as a simple account of reptiles around the world is hard to find. While not as large as the Bird and Mammal books it is a very good account . It even has the Tuatuara we saw in New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
Although dated (published 2005), this is a fantastic book with millions of refrences and a great, in-depth section on amphibians, for such a cheap price its well worth very anybody with an interest in herpetology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Grame Fletcher "Grame" (Northeast UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
A work of reference which provides a broad view for people with an interest in Herpetology and will help them to decide how they might wish to research particular aspects more deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 25 Feb 2009
By 
C. Soden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians (Hardcover)
This book is not up to the same standard as the Oxford birds or mammals encyclopedias. But never the less had some good information in. Could have done with more information on monitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians by Tim Halliday (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: 7.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews