Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Good.
I got these books recommended from a friend and I have found that they are brilliant. They start from GCSE maths and then works its way to 2nd Year university Maths. I have found it so useful, as i am a Physics Undergraduate, for my course. It covers everything i need and will be useful to look back at maths i have done in the past, for future reference.
Published on 15 Dec. 2000 by l.bateman@rl.ac.uk

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good as an overview
This book doesn't actually teach you, or introduce you, to more math theory than what is available in A-level maths modules, however it does summarise these topics very concisely and clearly.
Published on 2 Mar. 2013 by Rawr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Good., 15 Dec. 2000
By 
l.bateman@rl.ac.uk (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
I got these books recommended from a friend and I have found that they are brilliant. They start from GCSE maths and then works its way to 2nd Year university Maths. I have found it so useful, as i am a Physics Undergraduate, for my course. It covers everything i need and will be useful to look back at maths i have done in the past, for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good maths background / refresher for undergraduate Science qualifications, 26 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
I am currently doing two Open University Maths modules (MST121 & MS221 - both excellent) as part of a Natural Sciences degree. This book parallels much of what I have done on my courses but is written in a different but equally understandable way. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
A compact and concise presentation of the Maths required for Science or Engineering courses. In fact I don't think there's any other book that covers so much material in less than 100 pages.
The conciseness means you have to pay attention to every single sentence, there is absolutely no fluff in this book.
I found the later chapters reasonably hard going, but managed to get through by looking up certain new ideas on the web.
This book could be the perfect undergrad Maths book - it just needs a new edition where some of the more abstruse concepts in the later chapters are explained in more detail, perhaps with more examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 18 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This book provides problems and solutions for numerous questions covering maths met by physical science students in their first year of university.
A variety of topics are covered, abut the solutions can at times be a little brief. This book is intended to be used alond with its sister-title in the same series.
All in all, this is a useful, good book to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars science maths, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
very good indeed. Includes most of the most important topics useful for any undergraduate and postgrad courses in chemistry and physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the maths needed for science and an ..., 15 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
A good introduction to the maths needed for science and an introduction to the use and application of partial differential equations. It ends with an introduction fourier transforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
Really accessible book on mathematics. Not heavy on detail, just the basics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
E. M. Robinson "Eva" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
Again a good book very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good as an overview, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
This book doesn't actually teach you, or introduce you, to more math theory than what is available in A-level maths modules, however it does summarise these topics very concisely and clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Foundations of Science Mathematics, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) (Paperback)
I bought this because it was on the recommended reading list for Cambridge University applications. It does not really deserve a place on that list, not amongst some of the other books there. It is pretty short, so don't expect the discussions to be too rigorous, and it kind of jumps from topic to topic. Much of the material is covered by A level maths, and I didn't find the new bits long enough to be able to understand the topics as fully as I would have liked. There are some practice questions, but not many. It is neither a textbook, nor is it a reading book, and it seems to be trying to forget its lack of belonging by being so short.
Nevertheless, it is interesting, perhaps a good introduction to A level maths, not much of a pre-University read. If you were to calculate its value per page, you would see that it is actually quite expensive. This review does not seem very constructive, and so I will suggest that anyone wanting a better book about maths, with some sort of scientific aim, should have a go at "Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering" by Riley, Hobson and Bence, which is quite good value for its length and complexity. I believe this might be the first year textbook for physical sciences at Cambridge, but I am not sure. So there you go, a longer and more interesting read than the one you are currently considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers)
Foundations of Science Mathematics (Oxford Chemistry Primers) by S. G. Rawlings (Paperback - 24 Jun. 1999)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews