Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Great Value.
This exceeded my expectations. My son loves the discovery nature of the reading trail (reading map given) and excellent value with the books on a CD Rom. Activity books are fun and encourage a focus on sounds - linking them with the various spelling combinations. I can't praise this pack enough. If you want to encourage your child to read - this is the best package I...
Published 12 months ago by Mrs Alison H Salm

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tin Truck
This pack did not make it clear that it is not suitable for beginners. I was hoping for something that would help me start teaching my daughter about phonics. The first page asks if your child can confidently read the following words, tin, truck, night, cloth, sun, see, not, clown, look, jog, buzz, road, winner, train and will. If she could confidently read the above...
Published 19 months ago by Lynda Reah


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tin Truck, 26 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
This pack did not make it clear that it is not suitable for beginners. I was hoping for something that would help me start teaching my daughter about phonics. The first page asks if your child can confidently read the following words, tin, truck, night, cloth, sun, see, not, clown, look, jog, buzz, road, winner, train and will. If she could confidently read the above words, would she really need extra help with her phonetics test. They suggest that you read the books level 2,3 and 4 of the Biff, Chip and Kipper books for practice, before attempting the workbook. Is it me or this a vicious circle. I wanted help so we could start reading said books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Great Value., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
This exceeded my expectations. My son loves the discovery nature of the reading trail (reading map given) and excellent value with the books on a CD Rom. Activity books are fun and encourage a focus on sounds - linking them with the various spelling combinations. I can't praise this pack enough. If you want to encourage your child to read - this is the best package I have come across for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticker chart included, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
This has 3 books in a pack and a CD compatible with PC and Mac with stories on. There is a clear instruction sheet for parents. The sticker chart can help to motivate the children to do a section at a time. If you wanted to spend longer on each sound though maybe put the chart somewhere not on constant view, as they want to get those stickers! Aimed at UK Year 1 and 2 but a very bright Reception child could cope with some of this, especially the Kipper booklet, the easiest one of the three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1:1, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
This is absolutely ideal for the work I do with a 6 year old who hates reading! The reward chart has really got them motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for phonics, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
I use this in my lessons to teach English children in Spain how to read and write English, it gives good phonics that are useful and easily explained, this would also be a good resource for parents wanting to teach their children, the only downside is that you cannot photocopy two sides of the book on one A4 page. Other than that it's a useful resource with stickers which my children love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
very useful for phonics screening, getting the children prepared for the screening, so they knew about nonsense words etc, happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help with phonics, 26 Feb. 2012
By 
Parents in Touch - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
Phonics can be a confusing area for parents, but one in which many are keen to help their child progress. This resource is an excellent way to build on the work done in school, knowing that it carries on the teaching in a way familiar to children. Oxford Reading Tree is used in 80% of primary schools, so the chances are high that your child will be familiar with the colourful characters of the series.With the advent of the new Government scheme for carrying out a phonics screening check at six, parents are even more keen to help. This pack represents excellent value - it includes three phonics workbooks (which include tips on doing the activities); eBooks and activities on a CD-ROM (this includes all the sounds - a very important and extremely useful feature); a reward chart and information for parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and clear, 18 July 2013
By 
Ms. S. M. Menezes "Susana" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
I bought this for my 5 year old in Year one to help her prepare for the "sounds test". I do not much like the books with the original characters as I find the stories a little dry (I much prefer Julia Donaldson's approach) but by George, my daughter loves this. Each page comes with a reward sticker (2 or even three in comes cases) and an additional treat- a chart where you can stick the additional treats for the dog.
It helps children learn the phonemes by association: it gives you a word or a ditty that you can use to remind your child when they get stuck. I found it a brilliant work that has entertained- yes you are reading it right- for hours and days without a single complaint.
That's well work the five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little learning pack, 9 Feb. 2012
By 
Ms. E. D. Lynch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
I bought this for my 4 year old but it's probably for an older child of around 5 or 6 so I plan to save it till he is able to do it properly. You get a sticker chart and 3 workbooks to do and also a CD rom of activities. A good price to help your child learn to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 18 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Hong Kong, Hong Kong Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Reading Tree Read With Biff, Chip, and Kipper: My Phonics Kit (Read With Biff Chip & Kipper) (Paperback)
indeed value for money. with stickers and games. but books are for older children from 5 up. should askOUP to publish more games, in addition to its bestsellbg books, to tie in with the game-based teaching approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews