Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Primary Atlas (2nd edition)
Santa included this atlas in my five year old's stocking and it was very well received. My son particularly likes to look at the flags on the inside covers - his previous atlas was very old and inaccurate in terms of newer countries. Although in this ever-changing world there is one incorrect flag already (Libya) despite the atlas being less than a year old...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by amandajcd

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
Not worth the money as it is quite flimsy, however it is informative and well illustrated. Would prefer hardback as it's a book to keep for children.
Published 9 months ago by Miss Susan Andrew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Primary Atlas (2nd edition), 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: OXFORD PRIMARY ATLAS NEW ED (Hardcover)
Santa included this atlas in my five year old's stocking and it was very well received. My son particularly likes to look at the flags on the inside covers - his previous atlas was very old and inaccurate in terms of newer countries. Although in this ever-changing world there is one incorrect flag already (Libya) despite the atlas being less than a year old.

The atlas starts with Understanding the Earth and Understanding Direction, two pages that cover the basics of latitude and longitude, the poles and how to read a compass. Then come pages on Understanding Maps, Height, Rivers, Settlements and Satellite Images, which introduce map symbols, scale, keys showing height above sea level and other information which helps young readers understand how to read the maps that follow.

The bulk of the book is, naturally, dedicated to maps of continents and countries, with interesting photos and additional information on each page. There are several pages dedicated to the UK, with detailed maps and pages on subjects such as Population, Conservation, Pollution & Recycling. At the back of the atlas are pages dealing with World Climate, Environmental Problems and Country Data Files.

Whilst I would agree that it would be most useful for children of around seven years and upwards, my five year old really enjoys looking through it. He even asked for it for his bedtime story last night, looking for flags, working out the highest point in the countries we looked at and comparing the size of the UK to big countries like Russia and Australia. We both find first atlases too basic, whilst the Oxford Primary Atlas is one he can enjoy now as well as grow into it and gain more from it over the coming years. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Primary Atlas, 28 Aug 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this atlas for my eight year old son - and as the book is aimed at 7-11 year olds it should be ideal for the work he is doing at school. The inside cover has flags of the world and there is a lot of information at the front about how to understand the use of maps, a key for land height, the definition of a country and a capital city, etc. Although there is a traditional map of the world, this is an atlas aimed at schoolchildren and the book is laid out with that in mind. Therefore, there are several different maps of the UK, with information on tourism, pollution and other aspects that will covered in the curriculum. Of course, there are maps of the other continents and countries of the world, but the book is laid out with emphasis on questions children may face when studying geography - climates, population, rivers, etc. If you are looking for a basic atlas this may not be the one for you, but if you are looking for a book to help with homework, this should be ideal. If you are homeschooling, there is an activity book also available, Oxford Primary Atlas Activity Book (2011) and also a book pack Oxford Primary Atlas Activity Book Pack (2011) which you might find useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD GEOGRAPHY BOOK, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A GOOD book for all ages to see the geography book to learn all about the world and the UK.Lots of pictures and photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful Atlas. Got it for my 6 year old and he loves it. He has been looking at the flags of all the countries and has been finding all the places from Going Solo by Roald Dahl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a Year 5 student, 23 Oct 2011
By 
D. Jefford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OXFORD PRIMARY ATLAS NEW ED (Hardcover)
We were after an age appropriate atlas for our daughter to use at home and after a lot of research seems the best available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Atlas!, 26 July 2011
By 
This review is from: OXFORD PRIMARY ATLAS NEW ED (Hardcover)
My 8 year old finds this atlas just right - clear and concise, good use of colour and the tect not to difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 13 May 2011
By 
S. Bharat (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson opened this right away and called his Mum over to look at some pages that immediately drew his attention. A good response!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not worth the money as it is quite flimsy, however it is informative and well illustrated. Would prefer hardback as it's a book to keep for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OXFORD PRIMARY ATLAS NEW ED
OXFORD PRIMARY ATLAS NEW ED by Franklin Watts (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2011)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews