Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This set has the following 6 books in it...
Great set of 6 books - used over the summer to support reading. This set came with the following books in it:

Paris Adventure
The Stolen Crown Part 1
The Stolen Crown Part 2
Ship in Trouble
Homework!
Olympic Adventure
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by ThatRachaelWoman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford books stage 6
Excellent books, as this is the series they use in my daughters school it is great that she can have extra practice at home.
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Jodie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This set has the following 6 books in it..., 30 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great set of 6 books - used over the summer to support reading. This set came with the following books in it:

Paris Adventure
The Stolen Crown Part 1
The Stolen Crown Part 2
Ship in Trouble
Homework!
Olympic Adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Reading Tree: Stage 6: More Stories A, 14 Jan 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For children who are beginning to read fluently, these books are really good. The stories involve familiar family settings (for example, staying at Gran's house) and also Magic Key adventures (for example, visiting Father Christmas). My children have all enjoyed this reading scheme, with interesting stories and characters they can relate to. This set has six books: A fright in the night, Rotten apples, The laughing princess, Christmas adventure, The go-kart race and The shiny key. Really good value for money and also includes an extra book of guided reading notes, to offer further suggestions and activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford reading tree, 22 Aug 2011
By 
These books have been great for my 6 year old who is learning to read English at home as we live in Sweden. She is working her way through the stages and enjoying the stories. Having taught her to read myself I found that it was really important and helpful for her to have a good foundation and knowledge of all the phonetic sounds before even trying to read words. The only caution I would have on these books is that it is easy for children to memorize the stories so I try not to stay on one book for too long. We also mix in other books to keep a variety of stories to prevent boredom and avoid memorizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading is an adventure, 11 Aug 2011
Our five year old has taken to reading so quickly that he wants stimulation. The familiar figures of Chip, Biff & Kipper help him enjoy these adventures which deal with history in a tongue-in-cheek way. He doesn't realise his vocabulary is being extended as he is enjoying the stories too much.
The Paris Adventure story is particularly loved as he's been to Paris a few times and even been up the Eiffel Tower.
The Lost Crown two-parter was definitely an unputdownable page turner with a near pantomime villain. The Olympic Adventure and Victorian Adventure provide ample opportunity to the separation of sexes in sport, the experiences of children in other eras, etc.

Without a doubt we'll revisit these books over the next year or two to chuckle at the pictures and the jokes and ponder some of the issues raised.

The teacher's notes will also help structure our discussions, though our son currently just wants to read and read and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More brilliant Oxford Reading Tree books!, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Getting books that my autistic son will read with us is difficult but the Reading Tree books are excellent. Brilliant stories, fantastic illustrations (there's always something funny in them to be found), and the reading levels are just right. Working through the various stages works really well and the books are challenging but not so much that they discourage my son from reading them.

Not particularly cheap but very good value in my opinion, you get what you pay for.

This pack lived up to my expectations based on the many other Reading Tree books we own. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth the Money, 21 Nov 2010
By 
M. Graves "Matt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books may seem expensive but we have bought lots of them to help our daughter with her reading. She has read all of the stages up to stage 6 and really enjoys reading them with us and has now started to read them on her own. The stories contain the same characters, which provides continuity and they are fun to read with funny endings. Our daughter has grown in confidence as she has read these books, which are specifically for home reading complementing the Oxford Reading Tree books she has at school. Each book has a guide at the beginning to help the person reading with the child; it explains the words being concentrated on and how to work through the story asking questions etc. Each page has big cartoon pictures that clearly show the story and then a few sentences underneath. At the end of the book there are some other activities to reinforce the main words. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great books!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They are well thought out, provide the right level of challenge, the stories are interesting (even for dad and mum) and the pictures are good and support the story. My six year old daughter loves them. We use them as an adjunct to the stuff she reads at school. The whole series are worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets - ORT, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most deservedly successful reading scheme to have been introduced in the last 30 or more years. ORT has been around for a while and with only a few minor updates along the way, the feel is still fresh and modern. Children identify with the characters and are hugely motivated to read the stories - in STAGE 6 even the most reluctant boy readers are desperate to get to 'Land of the Dinosaurs'!
The device of the 'magic key' makes possible an infinite variety of setting for the stories (time and place). Historical and geographical contexts abound and add interest - plus plenty of unforced humour for children and adults alike. I would recommend sticking mainly to the core readers (Trunk) unless seriously stuck 'on a plateau' - there are plenty of easy options to return to then at a lower level in this very well-constructed reading programme.
I have had years of happy teaching with these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford books stage 6, 23 Feb 2011
Excellent books, as this is the series they use in my daughters school it is great that she can have extra practice at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We love this set and my daughter loves to read them to me. We do chart and she draws a "Tick" each time she finish new book. She now wants to read all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Reading Tree: Level 6: Snapdragons: Class Pack (36 books, 6 of each title)
£185.55
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews