Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection
The student reviewer complains that there is no translation included - well of course there isn't! Translating the text is one of the key tasks at GCSE, so if a translation were included all the candidates would supply exactly the same words in the exam! This volume is designed to be taught with a teacher, it is not aimed at self-study students.
The selection is very...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by Latin Lady

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for schools where books are handed down
The book covers the GCSE Latin set texts for several years, so it will be useful for schools where books are passed down from one year to the next. But if you're buying this for yourself alone, you'll be probably be using only 20 or so of its 177 pages. Well-produced, with glossy pages, facing vocabulary, and a few sample questions. But there are no textual notes, no...
Published 23 days ago by Timotheos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good for schools where books are handed down, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book (Paperback)
The book covers the GCSE Latin set texts for several years, so it will be useful for schools where books are passed down from one year to the next. But if you're buying this for yourself alone, you'll be probably be using only 20 or so of its 177 pages. Well-produced, with glossy pages, facing vocabulary, and a few sample questions. But there are no textual notes, no translations, and the introductory/bridging sections are kept to a bare minimum.

My copy was accompanied by a CD containing the verse readings. They are read with incredible exclamatory emphasis bordering on the fanatical. I found it very funny. What was even funnier were the names of audio tracks 22-48:

Okay | I've | cocked this up | but, | when | I | know | what | these | tracks | are | I'll | give | them | proper | names | maybe | If | I | can | be | bothered | O | the | effort | of | Latin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book (Paperback)
I am currently doing Latin GCSE and am using this book as an aid for my set text part. This book contains the Latin for every the set texts; however, does not contain an English translation. It does contain translations for individual words but these need to be put together in order to create a coherent translation. Also, it does not have any literary notes on the texts. Having literary notes on the texts are very important because they make up a vital part of the GCSE exam paper.
If you are interested in book that contains the Latin version of the set texts and a few questions on them then this is a good book; however, if you are interested in something more geared towards achieving higher grades at GCSE then I would suggest a more thorough guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book (Paperback)
The student reviewer complains that there is no translation included - well of course there isn't! Translating the text is one of the key tasks at GCSE, so if a translation were included all the candidates would supply exactly the same words in the exam! This volume is designed to be taught with a teacher, it is not aimed at self-study students.
The selection is very wide, and will be used for both verse and prose set texts for many years to come. Good value if you are a teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but only with a teacher., 23 Jun 2012
By 
Simon Everett (Norwich, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book (Paperback)
The point about this book is that it is specifically for students who are studying the OCR GCSE Latin course in school with a teacher. The other review only gives it 2 stars, but this isn't intended to be a self-study course book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is what it says..., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book (Paperback)
...and contains the set GCSE texts. It has all you need except some notes to help with understanding the texts, which would be helpful. My biggest bugbear is the fact that Vergil is spelt Virgil throughout. Whilst it has become the common spelling, I would like to point out that his name is Publius VERGILIUS Maro and we should be teaching the correct classical spelling of his name and not some mediaeval mis-spelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book
GCSE Latin Anthology for OCR Students' Book by Margaret Widdess (Paperback - 14 May 2009)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews