Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Corbett Second Omnibus " Wonderful Reading"
I purchased the second Omnibus having read and enjoyed Corbetts accounts and expoits hunting Man Eating Tigers and Leopards in Northern India.

This second omnibus covering life, nature and people in India and Africa is just wonderful. Jim Corbett seems to have incredible knowledge and skill as a hunter but his writing and descriptive abilities are...
Published on 12 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a patch on the original stories
more of a nostalgia trip than anything like the entertainment provided by the original man-eater stories that I first stumbled on by accident when using a library for resaerch purposes nearly 50 years ago
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by vincent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Corbett Second Omnibus " Wonderful Reading", 12 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
I purchased the second Omnibus having read and enjoyed Corbetts accounts and expoits hunting Man Eating Tigers and Leopards in Northern India.

This second omnibus covering life, nature and people in India and Africa is just wonderful. Jim Corbett seems to have incredible knowledge and skill as a hunter but his writing and descriptive abilities are phenomenal

I only wish there were more of his books to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window on a lost world, 29 July 2010
By 
CinePhil (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
Jim Corbett's writing is direct, honest and clearly from the heart. Through it runs a burning love of his little corner of India, its people and the natural environment. I am always puzzled by the modern trend of portraying the British in India as idiotic bigots, chancers and ne'erdowells, this book exposes that stereotyping racism for the lie it is.
On the book itself I personally don't like the often crude drawings that add little to the narrative, and there are occasional typeset errors that are puzzling. However, these issues are minor compared to being drawn back nearly a century to the mountains and jungles of northern India, with Jim as your guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus, 24 Mar. 2009
By 
Dominik Cotic (Ljubljana, Slovenia EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
You can not find anythig better on the subject.The all time best hunting books ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 10 April 2011
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
A hugely interesting insight into a bygone age ! India before the game and wildlife became confined to small pockets.And Corbett - what a man - deadly rifle shot and leading conservationist ! Really recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jum Corbett, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
A wonderful insight into the life of the conservationist and 'sportsman' in the jungles of India. I first read a copy of this book twelve years ago and it is still as enjoyable second time round. Mr Corbett was a fantastic story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent accounts of tiger hunting in India., 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for my son. He admires Jim Corbett as much as I do. Don't go to walk the dogs on a dark night after reading one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a patch on the original stories, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops' (Hardcover)
more of a nostalgia trip than anything like the entertainment provided by the original man-eater stories that I first stumbled on by accident when using a library for resaerch purposes nearly 50 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Second Jim Corbett Omnibus: `My India', `Jungle Lore', `Tree Tops'
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews