Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inconvenient truth for marketers
It's refreshing to read a marketing book that puts theory aside and looks at the evidence-based learnings from some of the most successful campaigns.

The results can make for uncomfortable reading (especially if you currently manage the marketing plan) but the book is based on clear, objective and compelling research, expertly presented in way that makes it...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Mr. T. Wade

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How big brands grow bigger would be a more accurate name
This book is one huge pile of generalizations.

Disclaimer: it may be a good read if you're managing an account for a large multinational company who sell products to the mass market. Why? Because this book tells you that customer loyalty doesn't exist, that Mars and Snickers are the same thing (both chocolate, right?), Coke Zero and Diet Coke target the same...
Published 16 months ago by Margarita G


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inconvenient truth for marketers, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. T. Wade - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
It's refreshing to read a marketing book that puts theory aside and looks at the evidence-based learnings from some of the most successful campaigns.

The results can make for uncomfortable reading (especially if you currently manage the marketing plan) but the book is based on clear, objective and compelling research, expertly presented in way that makes it both a great read and immediately actionable. Overall, an original, impressive and insightful book that does exactly what it says on the cover - reveals how brands really grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every marketer needs this book!, 21 Jun 2010
By 
Dr. Maxwell Winchester (Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
The most unfortunate thing about this book is that most people who most need to read it probably won't! It is unfortunate that the marketing profession is largely founded on what appear to be exciting ideas that are underpinned by little empirical evidence. Prof Sharp provides a challenge to everything we think we know about marketing, and provides a wealth of empirical evidence to back up what he says. If you think you know something about marketing, then you really need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book on Marketing I have read in many years, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Martin Kla "Martin Kula" (Prague, CZ Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
Very complex view on marketing and brand management challenging many traditional myths, challenging a bit traditional Kotler's point of view. Applies rather scientific approach and support view with a lot of evidence. Suitable rather for experienced marketing managers and professionals. Should be obligatory reading for CEOs, CFOs and generally board members, as at very well explains the role of advertising and promotion and what can and cannot be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than sliced bread...really!, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Charles Graham (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
This book tells it how it is, but it might not make comfortable reading if you work in marketing...there are rules, they are not what you think, they are based on facts it's hard to argue with, and now they are all in one place. Read it before your competitors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for marketing, 26 Oct 2011
By 
Robert (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
Byron Sharp has written an essential summary of research on how brands grow. In doing so, he dispels popular marketing myths, using facts and evidence. The writing is clear and easy to understand, the structure of the book is logical. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-opening!, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. L. F. Barnsley (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
My first copy was leant to me by a marketing friend who said, 'Read this, you're going to be amazed. Our company has changed it's whole marketing strategy based on this book, and it's working.' A little sceptical, I took the book and started reading.

Half a day later, I emerged, dazed and astounded. She was right, I was amazed. It was a revelation to someone who's been in marketing for over 20 years. It will challenge your accepted marketing thinking and fill your head with a vision of a Brave New World. I'm off to start building mine now, before every marketer has read this and the advantages it gives me will be the norm once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radical. Uncomfortable. Essential., 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
Read 'How Brands Grow'. Then, for every bit of Marketing lore and received wisdom you THINK you know, ask yourself what data that belief is - or isn't - based on. This will be an uncomfortable process, I guarantee.
If you're only just starting out in Marketing, you're lucky: you have a Bible to digest, learn and refer to.
If (like me) you have come up through the ranks of MarComms, with all its taken-for-granteds and that's-the-way-it's-dones, "How Brands Grow" rips down the flimsy edifices we've leaned on for years, and replaces them with solidly-founded constructions, rooted immutably in fact.
The book's title is disingenuously neutral. It could have been called "Everything You Know About Marketing Is Wrong", and still not have done justice to the radical way it demolishes existing Marketing theory and practice. Which it then replaces with simple new principles which any Marketer anywhere could adopt and use tomorrow.
Please don't assume that because it is such a departure from current thinking, it can't possibly be THAT much better. You may think, "Surely a middle ground is most likely to be right? ...something that draws on the best of what we already know, and adds newer, sharper thinking to it?" Big mistake. This is a take-it-or-leave-it offer - you're either with us or against us (I apologise for quoting Bush). You can't read "How Brands Grow" and do nothing: either you clamp your hands over your eyes and ears like terrified monkeys, or you put up your hands, surrender, and gird your loins for the arguments you're going to have every working day.
Read "How Brands Grow". If you decide my review is wrong, that's fine. I KNOW I will be out there making brands grow. You keep doing what you're doing - you may get lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sharp read, 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
Writing a review of a book which you know you are going to like before you have read it presents a few problems. Firstly it is harder to find substantive as opposed to trivial faults such as "50% ( 200 divided by 100)" on p 31, or figures 4.1 and 4.1 mis-labelled). Nobody apart from a few of us sticklers will notice or care, and anyway they will get corrected in the second edition!

Secondly there is a danger of being over effusive and becoming one of the small number of `passionate committed consumers' who matter but do not significantly affect the overall performance of the brand (see chapter 7) - Kotler may be wrong but he is a much bigger brand the Sharp!

Sharp's target market for this book is clearly marketing managers which violates some of the most important law-like relationships revealed in "How Brands Grow" - it should of course reach a much wider group of consumers which (at least) include marketing pedagogues in further and higher education institutions (and their charges!) and academic and practitioner marketing researchers.

The book will be a challenge to those who are unfamiliar with the core concepts, and there are many who will find the ideas so dissonant with their own behaviours as marketers or teachers that they will not read it all. Hopefully they will return and re-read and re-evaluate and then reform their views of marketplace realities.

The structure and approach are good and the feeling of repetition at times can also be seen as a way of reinforcing the awareness created. The use of data to exemplify the rules matters greatly and it would have been great to see an extensive example from one of the Ehrenberg-Bass Institute supporting companies woven throughout the book.

The best part for me was the last substantive chapter on "mental and physical availability of brands" - and that is because it cystalised some concepts which I had thought about, but not deeply enough before.

Overall it is written in an engaging style which is critical if it is to convert the non-believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its changed the way I think, 12 April 2011
By 
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
I read this book after it had been recommended by shopper research guru Herb Sorensen. In fact I read it 3 or 4 times. Then I set out to apply the theories to the market in which I work & have access to data and lo & behold the theories about driving penetration & light shoppers were right & helpful. Then I discovered that my companies biggest competitor swears by it . So actually it didn't matter what I thought about the themes it gave me insight into what others thought.

So far so good. I presented my own industry findings to my marketing department. Some people got it immediately & were amazed. Some just missed the whole point of it. Some said it wasn't new & they were already acting by the principles outlined. Yeah right.

I then took some of the findings about brand imagery into the lions den & tested the theory against my own data from my companies continuous research provider & for this latter part of the book I wasn't able to map the findings nearly so neatly. The continuous researcher, oh alright then, name Millward Brown, also provided the case for the defence & after that I was not confident enough to present validation of the book. I haven't yet plucked up courage to take on dunn humby & Professor Sharpes findings on loyalty cards.....

Brilliant book though. Made me think new thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know (Hardcover)
Sharp builds evidence based arguments that make you reconsider your assumptions - this is real food for the mind - so long as you recognise that some of the law like generalisations are really sweeping over-simplifications!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know
How Brands Grow: What Marketers Don't Know by Byron Sharp (Hardcover - 11 Mar 2010)
20.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews