Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What everyone really does need to know about Cuba, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Rachel Rogers (Weymouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Cuba: what everyone needs to know is a comprehensive summary of key aspects of Cuba's history and politics which should be of interest not only to visitors to the island but also to the casual reader. Julia Sweig is an American academic but her viewpoint is utterly disinterested and she clearly has a profound understanding of her subject. The book is set out in a question and answer format which is very helpful if you are looking for a particular piece of information. The book starts with an introduction to key themes such as the struggle for independence and Cuba's journey to 1959 but goes on to focus mainly on the post-revolutionary period, looking at Cuba's domestic situation, its complex relationship with the US and also at the island's relations with the wider world. The transition from Fidel to Raul Castro is dealt with in depth and the book is up-to-date enough to include information on the dramatic shift in policy between the Bush and Obama administrations. If you have ever wondered how Elian Gonzalez scuppered Al Gore's chance of being US president or who the Cuban Five are (or even if you haven't) this is a book you really shouldn't miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cuba -what everyone needs to know", 19 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that is bang up to date, and takes account of Obama's presidency. The format of the book [a "Question and Answer" style] mightn't suit everyone, but certainly makes it easier for students to find their way around some of the key elements of Cuban history and politics. The author's written style is readily digestible, and as an "opener" to further reading and research on Cuba,its a book that I suggest is well worth a read.

Tom Jackson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and propoganda-free primer, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent primer, providing enough information on the history and politics of Cuba to answer most people's questions, and with a useful bibliography at the back if you want to learn more. It is scrupulously written and completely free of propoganda or bias. My sole criticism is that it is dating slightly, and towards the end it was obvious that reading what the author "assumes" will happen in 2009, 2010 and 2011 is a flaw that could only be rectified by a new edition. I'm happy to see that a new edition is due to be published late in 2012, and I'm greatly looking forward to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting overview, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Tom Webster (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are buying this expecting a tour guide you've bought the wrong book. If you bought it because you want to learn about Cuba's history in a brief potted overview but with enough detail to make sense, then this is the book for you. It is obvious that Ms. Sweig has done her homework and has created a book that puts across pretty much all the salient facts in a brief but very readable style. Unless you're the sort of tourist that just lazes around on the beach and visits the occasional site, I heartily recommend this book. The Q & A style is brilliant, especially, if like me, you read something, promptly forget it and then want to re-find the relevant fact and learn it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Interesting, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Went on holiday to Cuba recently so I got this book to read before I went so I had some idea of where I was going to. Price was excellent, book was easy to read and reasonably interesting. Definately worth the few pounds asking price if you want a brief historical overview of Cuba from the revolution to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP 10 CUBA, 7 July 2012
DK EYEWITNESS TRAVEL

Great handy pocket size travel book , with all you need to know on places to go and see in Cuba. And restaurants
and bars! Lot's of Museums and historical cites to visit. Looking forward to my travels next June.
Cheap price at £5.49 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cuba: What Everyone Needs to Know
Cuba: What Everyone Needs to Know by Julia E Sweig (Hardcover - 25 Jun 2009)
£48.00
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews