Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable
Me, Myself, and Them is Kurt Snyder's own account of living with schizophrenia, an experience that began for him at the age of 18. But his account is supplemented by observations from an academic in the field of psychiatry, neurology and radiology (Raquel E Gur) and a journalist specialising in mental health issues (Linda Wasmer Andrews).

It is hard to find...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by David Austin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A personnal story well told.
Interesting personal story giving insight into how a mind works and generates fear in a stressful situation. If unchecked, the imagination can get out of hand and lead to paranoia and chronic insomnia which in turn eventually leads to total breakdown.
This is only one part of the book. The rest is a rehash of psychiatry's traditional approach to what it calls...
Published 10 months ago by rambling rose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A personnal story well told., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting personal story giving insight into how a mind works and generates fear in a stressful situation. If unchecked, the imagination can get out of hand and lead to paranoia and chronic insomnia which in turn eventually leads to total breakdown.
This is only one part of the book. The rest is a rehash of psychiatry's traditional approach to what it calls schizophrenia. Nothing new there. Kurt Snyder has been well and truly brainwashed by his doctors in believing in the modern approach to psychosis and underplays the severity of the side effects psychiatric drugs can have as well as the stigma inflicted on those diagnosed with schizophrenia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 7 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
Me, Myself, and Them is Kurt Snyder's own account of living with schizophrenia, an experience that began for him at the age of 18. But his account is supplemented by observations from an academic in the field of psychiatry, neurology and radiology (Raquel E Gur) and a journalist specialising in mental health issues (Linda Wasmer Andrews).

It is hard to find anything much to criticise in this book. If I have one very minor criticism, it is that more hasn't been done to address the issues of stigma and stereotyping in connection with schizophrenia. These issues are not ignored, but they are dealt with rather fleetingly towards the end of the book. My own feeling is that these are very important matters that should have been raised earlier and dealt with more thoroughly (but this doesn't stop me from giving the book a five-star rating).

As I see it, Me, Myself, and Them offers the reader two major benefits. First, it mixes personal experience with explanatory detail in a very readable way. Some of the background observations tend towards the technical, but they are offered in a straightforward and readily understandable way. The book also offers some guidance on legal and financial matters (for sufferers in the United States), thus adding another dimension to its more practical aspects. This book strikes the perfect balance between specialised medical description, advice for sufferers, ordinary everyday narrative, and emotional involvement.

Second, and perhaps more important, is the fact that this is a very positive, optimistic book. It clearly gives the message that schizophrenia is treatable. While it cannot actually be cured, substantial recovery is achievable. With treatment matched appropriately to the individual, a sufferer can go on to lead a very full and rewarding life, with the condition downgraded (potentially, at least) to little more than an occasional inconvenience - I certainly wasn't previously aware that such a positive outcome was possible.

Me, Myself, and Them is primarily aimed at schizophrenia sufferers and their families, but it is also invaluable for anyone who wants to get away from popular misconceptions and gain a better-informed understanding of what schizophrenia is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good book. some interesting comments on mental illness, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a good book. some interesting comments on mental illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a valuable resource, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a valuable resource for anyone wanting to understand schizophrenia. It does this by having Kurt Snyder tell us his experience with schizophrenia, from how it began to how he eventually made a good recovery. It also does this by containing lots of authoritative information about the condition in general and has an extensive glossary. It addresses many questions and issues a reader may have about the condition. This book tells us that having schizophrenia does not mean your life is over, that it can be controlled and that you can make a recovery and go on to succeed and be normal. I've been through a lot of things which are similar to what Snyder has been through so can vouch for the authenticity of his account as it is consistent with my own experiences. It is possible to pick this book up knowing nothing about schizophrenia and to finish it having aquired a good understanding of the condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Me, Myself and Them: a Firsthand Account of One young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia, 16 May 2011
By 
Joy Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
Good read in simple language. Some useful information on schizophrenia experience and treatment. Liked the use of case studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Insight... Worth a read!, 8 April 2014
By 
C. Morgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
I bought this book as i am studying Mental Health at university and this offers a first hand experience of how Schizophrenia can take over an individuals life and gives a personal account of how the illness has affected this person and how he has managed to overcome it. It gives information about treatments and help that is on offer and i feel it is a valuable source of information and knowledge for anyone who may be experiencing it themselves or living with someone who has been diagnosed with schizophrenia...even if you are just wanting to know a little more about it, id say this is a fantastic purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
Great book definately well worth reading this book . it gives a better understanding from someone who suffers from schizophrenia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
I didn't expect for this book to leave me this great feeling that it did. I have read quite a few scientific materials about psychiatric disorders, I am a psychiatrist in training, but I was yearning to understand how things are on the other side of the battle. I feel that this book has unlocked a few doors for me as a proffesional and as a human being, and I would like to use the content of this book to help other people. I want to offer it for reading to people with the same experiences because I feel it would benefit their lifes. From my point of view, and I guess not only mine... Thank you, Kurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Endearing and insightful account of what its like to live with schizophrenia, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative) (Paperback)
Endearing and insightful account of what its like to live with schizophrenia written from a first person perspective and sharing with readers the authors experiences.
Well written and interesting to those with an interest in the subject either as a healthcare professional (I am currently a student nurse) or as a suffer trying to make sense of the illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews