Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy
The print is clear and easy to read, so I do not get eye strain. In a world where the print size diminishes (yes I have up to date perscription glasses) it is nice to be able to relax whilst reading, instead of squinting. The paper is very thin, however, if the paper was thicker then the book would be very heavy and difficult to handle. So on balance, I accept the...
Published on 26 Dec. 2009 by Liz D

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reader beware !
This edition of the RSV Bible is indeed compact measuring just 7inch by 5 inch ,an ideal size to carry around. However, readers should be aware that the pages are exceptionally thin and the print extremely small. This makes it difficult to read when following a service . I am an elderley churchgoer and found that although the size was perfect and easy to carry it...
Published on 6 April 2005 by Mrs. M. M. Spencer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 26 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The print is clear and easy to read, so I do not get eye strain. In a world where the print size diminishes (yes I have up to date perscription glasses) it is nice to be able to relax whilst reading, instead of squinting. The paper is very thin, however, if the paper was thicker then the book would be very heavy and difficult to handle. So on balance, I accept the thinner paper as a means to hold the book to read it whilst lounging in an unseemly heap on the sofa. The greatest book ever written in the history of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compact & delightful edition, 26 July 2012
By 
Oliver Bloor (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition (Hardcover)
I bought the Revised Standard Version following a discussion about translations and versions at a parish study group I have started attending.
This is an English update of an American update of the King James / Authorised Version. Much of the language used is familiar - the poetic beauty of the King James all seems to be there but without some of the more antique language. I understand it also steers more towards textual accuracy than general modern-language equivalence. So spot on as far as I am concerned.
I ought to mention to non-catholics that the "Catholic Edition" bit doesn't mean the translation is different but that it includes the extra Old Testament books and passages which Protestants call the Apocrypha (and Catholics call deutero-canonical) which are missing from some editions.
The book itself is a nice neat package - easily fitting into a coat pocket or bag. It has several decorated introductory pages with spaces for dedication, family tree and similar making it suitable as a gift from godparents etc.
The typeface is small but very clear on fine paper. Perfect for young eyes (which mine aren't) and very good for all others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ignatius catholic bible, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Bolton (Tyne and Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This bible is beautifully presented and is written in an easily readable format. Well recommended. My little boy received it for his First Holy Communion last year and his teacher has asked for the details so that she may order one for her Niece's Holy Communion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible, 3 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition (Hardcover)
This bible is a wonderful purchase. It is as you would expect very good quality and a good read. It is a wonderful bible for people. Easy to read and understand. This is the first purchase and in the future I will order another copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reader beware !, 6 April 2005
By 
Mrs. M. M. Spencer "marnie320" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition of the RSV Bible is indeed compact measuring just 7inch by 5 inch ,an ideal size to carry around. However, readers should be aware that the pages are exceptionally thin and the print extremely small. This makes it difficult to read when following a service . I am an elderley churchgoer and found that although the size was perfect and easy to carry it was difficult to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, without the zipper, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very attractive Bible spoilt by only one thing, which I'll come to.

The design is very good, and not the norm for an Oxford Bible. The size is good for a pocket Bible, it handles well, and, if you have bought the version without the zipper, there are no problems opening it. The text is small, but uncluttered, even in the prose sections. There are section dividers that add some extra white space to make things easier on the eye. I need reading glasses, but I can see the text without much problem. The notes are placed at the end of the OT and NT, and Dei Verbum is at the beginning. There are attractive glossy pages for family tree details - although why you'd want this in a pocket Bible I don't know.
The only negative is that the weave spine cover does not bind well to the end papers, and is quite noisy as you open and close, with a clearly audible crinkling sound. Apart from that, this is the translation stream (KJV, RSV, ESV, NRSV) pocket Bible I have been looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice compact edition, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition (Hardcover)
I am very happy with this product. It is small and handy, perfect if you want to read the Bible en route. What else do I have to say? - It's the Bible we're talking about, the best book in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible, 17 April 2012
By 
Ms. M. Smyton "M Smyton" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition (Hardcover)
Beautiful bible. Good strong hard back and in a lovely blue colour. It is excellent value for money, good size also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well pleased..., 22 May 2011
By 
OJ (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This Bible sports a Zipper, which makes it a bit difficult to read the Pentateuch or anything after Titus. The translation is super, coming with a 1966 Imprimatur from the then Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh, Cardinal Gordon Grey. A brief forward from Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster Heenan. The Introduction telling the story of the translation. Then follows Dei Verbum, the Vatican II Dogmatic Constitution on Divine Revelation.

Along with the text of the Bible, you get features such as "Measures and Weights in the Bible", at the very back one finds "Prayers and Devotions of the Catholic Faith" containing the basic prayers, Acts of Faith, Hope, Love and Contrition etc., the stations of the cross and prayers to Our Lady. The Appendices comprise brief notes from the Doauy Rheims translation which are at the back of each testament. There is a second appendix in the New Testament which shows the changes of the wording and footnotes between the RSV Protestant and Catholic versions. Bonded leather, gilt edging (mine slightly ruined with glue) - somewhat standard amongst OUP's range of Bibles. The zipper comes with a gold Miraculous Medal attatched. My only criticism is that it doesn't contain a ribbon marker, so have adopted a Holy Card instead.

My most used Bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Translation of Catholic Bible, 23 April 2011
By 
F. Kelly (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A perfect Bible for anybody who has difficulty with the usual size print.
An excelent quality Bible.
One of the best translations of a Bible on the market today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition
Revised Standard Version Catholic Bible: Compact Edition by Oxford University Press (Hardcover - 31 Jan. 2008)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews