Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2012
My first foray into the past of how the new testament came to be in its present form and this book has given me an excellect insight. Just enough description before each extract leaving you to form your own opinion as you read. An excellent starting point.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Lots of books that have not gone into the Bible.They throw a different light on the stories of Jesus and really make you think. I would recommend it to anyone that would like to increase their knowledge of the New Testament
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Met all my expectations after perusing the sample and purchasing the full version. I have no hesitation in giving it a hearty recommendation. Fully recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I liked the opportunity to explore the writings in and around the New Testament Canon. It gave me a much broader view of the scriptures, and widened my perspective. I have also gained much spiritual insight, particularly during this period of Kent in 2015. Thank you thank you thank you!
Ray Hills
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Utter trash. Among These are Genostic texts which were not written until the 2nd or 3rd century a.d. if you are looking for "missing" books look no further than Enoch which is credited in the book of Jude and the book of Jasher in both Samuel and Joshua. They go against the globe and evolution in more overall detail, which give extra insight to the flat earth belief of the acient Hebrews. This leaves possible speculation for agenda, don't get me wrong... allow civilians up into space first to see for themselves before just taking someomes word for it! They got a monkey up there decades ago... silly to think no human being outside of the military has reportedly been up there yet... why?? Its not as if the would be number 1 tourist attraction wouldn't pay for itself in no time, why fly up, creating the g force issue? Just fly straight and stay that way against "the curve". Until then these books hold interesting value and Enoch is particularly interesting in the oragins of the fallen angels also.

Though as with anything, it is important to form your own conclusion on these b.c. books, also found among the dead sea scrolls, writings that both canot be date verified in a b.c. or very early a.d. date and that are not credited in the cannon, should be treated as pure here say, when written without first hand information on Jesus of Nazareth.

I could say a few hundred years down the line now, that Napoleon was Spanish and create a convincing argument by the time a couple of thousand of years from now that this could be true... but would it be? Or would you rather draw from first hand accounts from the first hand dated documentation, just like the prophets of the gospel as more likely truth.

Your opinions and freedom to choose are your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
A selection of texts and extracts of early Christian writing, mostly purporting to be by apostles, some of which were for a while thought canonical, but which has not come down to us. Divided like the New Testament itself into Gospels, Acts, Letters and Acolypses, the works sometimes recount the familiar Bible story, and in other cases are rich in implausible miracles, which were seemingly needed to bolster the faith of early congregations. If the known New Testament miracles may strengthen faith, these are so outlandish as discredit all such stories. The pages are set out in double columns with numbered verses as in the usual presentation of Bible texts, and are eminently readable. Those who enjoy this book (like me) will certainly find it raises many questions, and want to learn more.
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
i only very recently stumbled over the lost scriptures, however what a gem of a discovery. most other books that i had been reading up to the present,led me towards the teachings of thomas.the lost scriptures,and mostly thomas have re-connected the missing link that i had always struggled with in christianity. the buddha we are told came to share light,while jesus came to share love. but what i liked about my discovery was the fact of what thomas and the others were saying,how to look inwardly and evolve and awaken. as opposed to what organised religions have been teaching down the ages. i will continue my journey of self discovery,now i have truly found the inspirational books in order to lead me to my destiny.the clarity of this book is up-lifting,and the sayings and teachings give me hope towards a jesus,who i feel shows a human quality in what he shared to thomas.what a time to find such a branch of discovery,especially within the present times.be prepared for change once you read this book,im sure it will make you question your christian beliefs,as i did. in the words of jesus "seek and you shall find the truth " amen ..
44 comments|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Interesting to read but if you are looking for God and truth then look into your heart, and listen to what it tells you, you know what is morally right and that moral right is a blue print of the Creators heart. Nature is our teacher and our heart is our moral guide. value ourselves value others value the earth and the Creator who made it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
As is usual for Ehrmans this is an authoritative and scholarly work. The amount of commentary is relatively low, much of the book comprising translations of the scriptures or extracts of them. Some of the fairy tales are quite entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
Fantastic translations of 'ommitted' manuscripts with a brief introduction, many of which Mr Ehrman undertook. Great read for seeing the traditional connonized books in a new light. Why should we be restrained by the 'Constantine tradition', almost all the NT scripts were anything from AD 70-150 anyway. Even so, they can be hard to understand in or out of context today, with the usual problem of the original authors unable to explain what they meant due to death, being unavailable for converse or comment!
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)