Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2013
Lots of books that have not gone into the Bible.They throw a different light on the stories of Jesus and really make you think. I would recommend it to anyone that would like to increase their knowledge of the New Testament
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
My first foray into the past of how the new testament came to be in its present form and this book has given me an excellect insight. Just enough description before each extract leaving you to form your own opinion as you read. An excellent starting point.
0Comment26 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Met all my expectations after perusing the sample and purchasing the full version. I have no hesitation in giving it a hearty recommendation. Fully recommended.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
An accademic text. very detailed and interesting - it really makes you think. Despached and recived within timescale - would use this supploer again.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I liked the opportunity to explore the writings in and around the New Testament Canon. It gave me a much broader view of the scriptures, and widened my perspective. I have also gained much spiritual insight, particularly during this period of Kent in 2015. Thank you thank you thank you!
Ray Hills
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
A selection of texts and extracts of early Christian writing, mostly purporting to be by apostles, some of which were for a while thought canonical, but which has not come down to us. Divided like the New Testament itself into Gospels, Acts, Letters and Acolypses, the works sometimes recount the familiar Bible story, and in other cases are rich in implausible miracles, which were seemingly needed to bolster the faith of early congregations. If the known New Testament miracles may strengthen faith, these are so outlandish as discredit all such stories. The pages are set out in double columns with numbered verses as in the usual presentation of Bible texts, and are eminently readable. Those who enjoy this book (like me) will certainly find it raises many questions, and want to learn more.
44 comments15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
i only very recently stumbled over the lost scriptures, however what a gem of a discovery. most other books that i had been reading up to the present,led me towards the teachings of thomas.the lost scriptures,and mostly thomas have re-connected the missing link that i had always struggled with in christianity. the buddha we are told came to share light,while jesus came to share love. but what i liked about my discovery was the fact of what thomas and the others were saying,how to look inwardly and evolve and awaken. as opposed to what organised religions have been teaching down the ages. i will continue my journey of self discovery,now i have truly found the inspirational books in order to lead me to my destiny.the clarity of this book is up-lifting,and the sayings and teachings give me hope towards a jesus,who i feel shows a human quality in what he shared to thomas.what a time to find such a branch of discovery,especially within the present times.be prepared for change once you read this book,im sure it will make you question your christian beliefs,as i did. in the words of jesus "seek and you shall find the truth " amen ..
44 comments59 of 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Interesting to read but if you are looking for God and truth then look into your heart, and listen to what it tells you, you know what is morally right and that moral right is a blue print of the Creators heart. Nature is our teacher and our heart is our moral guide. value ourselves value others value the earth and the Creator who made it all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
Fantastic translations of 'ommitted' manuscripts with a brief introduction, many of which Mr Ehrman undertook. Great read for seeing the traditional connonized books in a new light. Why should we be restrained by the 'Constantine tradition', almost all the NT scripts were anything from AD 70-150 anyway. Even so, they can be hard to understand in or out of context today, with the usual problem of the original authors unable to explain what they meant due to death, being unavailable for converse or comment!
22 comments18 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
This is very interesting book. All that those books that were not included in the canonized gospels were ordered destroyed!!! Fortunately it has survived!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse