Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, easy to read
My first foray into the past of how the new testament came to be in its present form and this book has given me an excellect insight. Just enough description before each extract leaving you to form your own opinion as you read. An excellent starting point.
Published on 2 Jan. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not for the layman aI was hoping very heavy reading...disappointed
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, easy to read, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
My first foray into the past of how the new testament came to be in its present form and this book has given me an excellect insight. Just enough description before each extract leaving you to form your own opinion as you read. An excellent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinated book, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
Lots of books that have not gone into the Bible.They throw a different light on the stories of Jesus and really make you think. I would recommend it to anyone that would like to increase their knowledge of the New Testament
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully recommended., 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Met all my expectations after perusing the sample and purchasing the full version. I have no hesitation in giving it a hearty recommendation. Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What we were never told, 30 July 2012
By 
David (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
A selection of texts and extracts of early Christian writing, mostly purporting to be by apostles, some of which were for a while thought canonical, but which has not come down to us. Divided like the New Testament itself into Gospels, Acts, Letters and Acolypses, the works sometimes recount the familiar Bible story, and in other cases are rich in implausible miracles, which were seemingly needed to bolster the faith of early congregations. If the known New Testament miracles may strengthen faith, these are so outlandish as discredit all such stories. The pages are set out in double columns with numbered verses as in the usual presentation of Bible texts, and are eminently readable. Those who enjoy this book (like me) will certainly find it raises many questions, and want to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost scriptures., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
An accademic text. very detailed and interesting - it really makes you think. Despached and recived within timescale - would use this supploer again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing link between jesus and buddha ?, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Jeff Wilson (west yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
i only very recently stumbled over the lost scriptures, however what a gem of a discovery. most other books that i had been reading up to the present,led me towards the teachings of thomas.the lost scriptures,and mostly thomas have re-connected the missing link that i had always struggled with in christianity. the buddha we are told came to share light,while jesus came to share love. but what i liked about my discovery was the fact of what thomas and the others were saying,how to look inwardly and evolve and awaken. as opposed to what organised religions have been teaching down the ages. i will continue my journey of self discovery,now i have truly found the inspirational books in order to lead me to my destiny.the clarity of this book is up-lifting,and the sayings and teachings give me hope towards a jesus,who i feel shows a human quality in what he shared to thomas.what a time to find such a branch of discovery,especially within the present times.be prepared for change once you read this book,im sure it will make you question your christian beliefs,as i did. in the words of jesus "seek and you shall find the truth " amen ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extrbiblical Manuscripts, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
P. L. Pells (LONDON-UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
Fantastic translations of 'ommitted' manuscripts with a brief introduction, many of which Mr Ehrman undertook. Great read for seeing the traditional connonized books in a new light. Why should we be restrained by the 'Constantine tradition', almost all the NT scripts were anything from AD 70-150 anyway. Even so, they can be hard to understand in or out of context today, with the usual problem of the original authors unable to explain what they meant due to death, being unavailable for converse or comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and informative exposition, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the opportunity to explore the writings in and around the New Testament Canon. It gave me a much broader view of the scriptures, and widened my perspective. I have also gained much spiritual insight, particularly during this period of Kent in 2015. Thank you thank you thank you!
Ray Hills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fortunately it has survived, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very interesting book. All that those books that were not included in the canonized gospels were ordered destroyed!!! Fortunately it has survived!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take it too seriously... but interesting, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament (Paperback)
Interesting! As a pastor, what more can I say? Some of these apocraphal texts are indeed edifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament
Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament by Bart D. Ehrman (Paperback - 17 Nov. 2005)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews