Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm (kind of) pro-Palestinian and I liked it
First of all, please go easy on the hostile comments.

I would not consider myself a supporter of the state of Israel, nor of its policies. Although there is so much to admire about the country and that I acknowledge.

Anyway, I just finished this book and I found it absolutely riveting. Although I was ready for signs of bias, I found it admirably free...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Miran Ali

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biased and one-sided, but interesting and well written
In the opening to this book, Oren goes to lengths to explain how he is writing openly and impartially. On that basis, and considering some of the other reviews on Amazon, I was hopeful that this would be a dispassionate account of the 6 day war. It is not.

Considering the author's background - he is an Israeli diplomat who has lived most of his life in the US -...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. Steven Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm (kind of) pro-Palestinian and I liked it, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Miran Ali "I don't like anonymous reviewers" (Dhaka, Bangladesh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Hardcover)
First of all, please go easy on the hostile comments.

I would not consider myself a supporter of the state of Israel, nor of its policies. Although there is so much to admire about the country and that I acknowledge.

Anyway, I just finished this book and I found it absolutely riveting. Although I was ready for signs of bias, I found it admirably free of that.

Alright, Mr Oren is quick to label certain Palestinian groups as terrorists while not using the same label for Irgun; but that's nitpicking.

If you want a short background on the events after the creation of the state of Israel and followed by a very detailed analysis of the Six Day War, the events leading up to it and its aftermath this is a great book.

Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle East War, 12 Feb 2013
By 
John (TRURO, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Days of War (Kindle Edition)
Excellent contents. I was on the fringe of it. Should be listed as required reading for all shades of political opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Detailed Study, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Days of War (Kindle Edition)
Having been in the Middle East at the time of the war it was interesting to learn what was really going on in the background. Especially as one could only get very limited news at the time.
A very detailed book not possibly for the light reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good analisis, 2 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Hardcover)
Michael Oren has written a wonderful and very balanced book upon the Six Days War. Using a wide range of sources -Arab, Jewish, American, Soviet- he has constructed a thoroughly researched account of those six days that shook the world. His narrative is precise but not boring. I highly recommend it for everyone interested in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 Feb 2013
By 
M Potts (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Days of War (Kindle Edition)
For those who haven't studied Arab-Israeli political issues in detail, and maybe even for those who have, this is a brilliantly written book; very well balanced despite Michael's nationality. Fascinating to see the personalities, egos and political machinations behind such a major world event. Very interesting, exceedingly readable and completely un-put-downable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Hardcover)
An excellent history of the six day war in Israel. The assistance of the U.S. is also clearly illustrated to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, well written, highly recommended., 19 Nov 2003
By 
M. D Roberts (Gwent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A very impressive and well researched account of the events surrounding the 1967 Six Day War. The reader will find themselves hooked from the very first page.
Michael Oren's authoritative research reveals a disturbing and alarming similarity between the events of 1967 and those of the present day. The reader sees from this book that Palestinian/Arab terrorist attacks upon innocent Jewish civilians were just as common-place leading up to the 1967 conflict as they are now.

Another alarming similarity drawn from the text is that of the apparent impotence and reluctance of the UN and the International Community in their unwillingness to condemn, hinder or prevent these attacks upon Israel prior to and leading up to the Six Day War. The reader sees that these same entities were even then still so ready to condemn the Jewish state for defending itself such terrorism.

The book reveals from the text that the Gaza Strip and the so-called 'West Bank' were not even in Israeli hands prior to the 1967 conflict. The author shows in his account that despite being in the hands of Egypt and Jordan respectively, no attempt was made to forge any 'Palestinian' state during the 19 years between 1948 and 1967.
To the contrary, Egypt is shown to have created the Palestine Liberation Organisation in 1964, three years before the conflict and that these very aforementioned territories were used as a base from which to seek the destruction of the Jewish state and the genocide of the Jews from the midst of the surrounding Arab nations.
This really is an absolute must read on the Middle East.
Whilst this will always be a contentious subject, this book certainly puts to rest once and for all the myths and allegations that Israel was responsible for this conflict. The detail and depth of study behind this presentation provides an excellent objective, accurate analysis of one of the most pivotal conflicts in World History.
A conflict in which the fledgling Jewish state of Israel recovered all of it's ancient, capital city of Jerusalem. An incredibly important and relevant issue all of it's own. An essential read for anyone interested in Middle Eastern history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so loved the audio cds set of 15 in the box, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this for my dad who is a voracious reader, but with visual difficulties at 89 years. He knew every page of the written book ,so loved the audio cds set of 15 in the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Work,, 10 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Hardcover)
This definitely is the most comprehensive work to date on the Six Day War. The author has consulted vastly documents, newspapers, books and interviews with important players.
Michael Oren interviewed such figures as former Jordanian Brigade Commander Ata Ali, Egyptian historian Issam Darraz former Syrian Ambassador to the UN, George Tomeh, former MOSSAD chief, Meir Amit, former Israeli Foreign Minister, Abba Eban, widow of PM Levi Eshkol, Miriam Eshkol, former IDF Chief of Operations and later President, Ezer Weizmann and former Deputy IDF Chief of Staff and later Tourism Minister, Rechavam Ze'evi, interviewed a month before his brutal murder by terrorists of the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine , in the corridor of a Jerusalem hotel , former members of the Supreme Soviet and Soviet military advisors to the Egyptians and Syrians and former Le Monde correspondent , Eric Rouleau , just to name a few of the Syrians , Egyptians , Jordanians , Israelis , French , British and Russians that Oren interviewed.

The novel is written in real time , as we trace events as they happened-it is really like watching the Six Day War , and the preceding and subsequent events unfold. He does not write to prove political points or to fit in with what it is currently fashionable to believe, like the malignant anti-Zionist `new historians' do.

Ultimately it is a history book about Israel's fight for survival, as we read of the bellicose threats of the Arabs and their Soviet backers, to destroy Israel and drive the Jews into the sea. Hence reading some of the Arab promises of genocide, much like they had threatened in 1948, and much as they threaten today, one can only gain a greater understanding of what Israel faces if it is ever - G-D forbid- defeated.
Here are some of the chilling promises of a second holocaust thundered by Arab leaders , and their evil Soviet instigators , before and during the Six Day War.

Ahmed Shuqayri, the first leader of the Palestine Liberation Organization, said: "We shall destroy Israel and its inhabitants."

"Leading to the purification of Arab land from reaction, imperialism and Zionism."
Damascus Radio, April 10 1967.

"If war comes it will be total, and the objective will be Israel's destruction...this is Arab power."
Egyptian President Gamel Abdel Nasser

"We have decided that this battle will be one for the final liberation from imperialism and Zionism...We shall meet in Tel Aviv.
Syrian President Attasi.

"The United Sates, oh Arabs, is the enemy of all peoples, the killer of life, the shedder of blood,, that is preventing you from liquidating Israel"
President Nasser

"If Israelis become drunk with success, and pursue their aggression further , the future of this little country will be a very sad one indeed"
Soviet Ambassador to Israel, Sergei Chuvakhin

"The cream of our troops stands at the front. Strike the enemy settlements, turn them into dust, pave the Arab roads with the skulls of Jews. Strike them without mercy.
Syrian Air Force Commander Hafez al Assad.

Essentially a reading of the book demonstrates how a combination of bellicose Arab rhetoric, threatening behaviour and, ultimately, an act of war left Israel no choice but pre-emptive action.

It is instructive to read the words of Israel's Prime Minister at the time Levi Eshkol who reminded the world:" We cannot afford to lose. This may be our last stand in history. The Jewish people have something to give to the world. I believe that if you look at our history and at all the difficulties that we have survived, it means that history wants us to continue. We cannot survive if we experience again what happened to us under Hitler...I believe that you should understand us."

Reading about the worlds equanimity over Arab plans to destroy Israel, and over Syrian shelling into Israel and PLO terror attacks into Israel, before the war, compared to the strident outcry against Israel when it hit back, gives one a chilling sense of de ja vu today.

I felt a cold anger at the Soviet Union condemmning Israel for ` aggression' and `imperialism', while half the world groaned under the Communist jackboot.
The same type of rhetoric is even more prevalent today in leftist academia, the UN, the international media , the so-called Non Aligned Movement , much of the European Union etc .

The malignant high priest of leftist totalitarian ideology Noam `Wormtongue' Chomsky simply perfected Soviet/Red Chinese and Arab rhetoric , and sold it to millions.

Sadly there was more understanding for Israel's plight in much of the world in 1967 than there is today. The fact that today the world has turned so viciously on Israel, as that tiny country still struggles to survive, is an indictment of a world that is clearly more evil today in 2004 than it was in 1967.

It is also worth noting that the Arabs are not very good fighters against soldiers, but like the Amalekites of old , are very good at killing Jewish women and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biased and one-sided, but interesting and well written, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Hardcover)
In the opening to this book, Oren goes to lengths to explain how he is writing openly and impartially. On that basis, and considering some of the other reviews on Amazon, I was hopeful that this would be a dispassionate account of the 6 day war. It is not.

Considering the author's background - he is an Israeli diplomat who has lived most of his life in the US - it is not surprising that the content is written entirely from the Israeli perspective with a strong focus on the US-Israeli relations (I guess the US market is the most profitable one for this book).

So, in terms of the positives - this book is well organised, is easy to read and is an interesting and engaging account of what happened from the Israeli perspective. I recommended it for anyone wanting to get a handle on how the war came about and was carried out.

What I didn't like - well this is really about the imbalance in the book. Putting it simply, Oren's argument is that innocent, meek Israel was forced into a war of aggression and land grabs because of Nasser's war mongering. There is no reflection at all on Israel's actions that had prompted Arab anger such as the oppression of the Palestinians, its ongoing development of nuclear weapons and it's practice of trying to provoke a war with the Syrians so it could grab land. Arab generals and politicians are represented as one-dimensional bumbling racists who just want to destroy Israel (except the Jordanians, who are treated with more respect for some reason). And the Americans are represented as a benign, peace-loving superpower who just want things to be worked out in a friendly way (Oren treats Nasser's assertions about US-Israeli collusion with contempt, but there are plenty of references in the book to Israel and the US colluding).

I couldn't help but think that if the Nazis had written about their invasion of Poland, it would be put very similarly to Oren's account of this war - apologetics for aggression and land grabs.

For a critique of the book, and other core tenets of this book, I recommend Norman Finkelstein's response which can be found by googling "Norman Finkelstein Reviews Oren's Six Days of War". It pulls apart many of Oren's assertions.

In conclusion, this is a good book, but it is very one-sided. When reading it, I recommend you consider that this is just one biased point of view and remember to do some research about how non-Israelis viewed the conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East
£21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews